book cover of Murder on the Old Bog Road
Added by 1 of our members

Murder on the Old Bog Road

(2018)
(The first book in the Hays and Lyons series)
A novel by

 
 


A woman is found dead in a ditch. As the list of suspects grows, a town's dirty secrets are revealed.

It's a cold winter evening and rain is sweeping in from the Atlantic when a young woman, having braved the weather to visit her sick mother in a remote part of Ireland, comes across an obstacle in the road. She clears the highway of stones from a damaged bridge only to see the body of a woman in a ditch. With no phone reception, she travels to the nearest police station to report what she has found.

The local Garda waste no time in attending the scene of the crime. The woman is clearly dead, but it needs proper forensics to establish if foul play was the cause. In the meantime, is it not possible that the woman driver was in fact the culprit? She is clearly not telling the whole truth.

A game of cat and mouse ensues when the inquiry is upgraded to a murder investigation. The trouble is, when the victim is recognised as a sex worker, there is no shortage of possible suspects. And few of them, if any, are willing to tell the truth to the police. It will take all of Galway detectives Hays and Lyons' experience to cut through the web of lies and identify the killer in their midst.

MURDER ON THE OLD BOG ROAD is the first in a series of atmospheric crime fiction titles featuring Detective Inspector Mick Hays and Detective Sergeant Maureen Lyons. The full list of books, in order of publication, is as follows:

1. MURDER ON THE OLD BOG ROAD
2. MURDER AT THE OLD COTTAGE
3. MURDER ON THE WEST COAST
4. MURDER AT THE PONY SHOW
5. MURDER ON PAY DAY
6. MURDER IN THE AIR
7. MURDER AT THE HOLIDAY HOME
8. MURDER ON THE PENINSULA

These books will appeal to fans of Val McDermid, Stuart McBride and Pete Brassett. They can be enjoyed in any order and are available FREE with Kindle Unlimited.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Dying for a Cruise
(Jenny Starling, book 3)
Joyce Cato
thumb
The Invisible Murder
(Jenny Starling, book 4)
Joyce Cato
thumb
The Body in the Dales
(Detective Chief Inspector Oldroyd Yorkshire Murder Mystery, book 1)
J R Ellis
thumb
A Fatal Mistake
(Ryder & Loveday Mystery, book 2)
Faith Martin

Used availability for David Pearson's Murder on the Old Bog Road

Paperback Editions

March 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: MURDER ON THE OLD BOG ROAD: gripping Irish crime fiction
Author(s): David Pearson
ISBN: 1-980705-15-1 / 978-1-980705-15-4
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder on the Old Bog Road
Author(s): David Pearson
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder on the Old Bog Road
Author(s): David Pearson
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder on the Old Bog Road
Author(s): David Pearson
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder on the Old Bog Road
Author(s): David Pearson
Publisher: Whole Story QUEST
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: MURDER ON THE OLD BOG ROAD: gripping Irish crime fiction
Author(s): David Pearson
Publisher: THE BOOK FOLKS traditional British murder mystery crime fiction publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU