book cover of The Unforgotten
Added by 4 of our members

The Unforgotten

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
“A smart and gripping debut that saves its best for last.” —Chris Cleave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee

“[A] thoroughly satisfying and suspenseful debut…the final twist in the murder plot will catch many readers unaware, as will the surprising emotional heft of the narrative, which traces the damage wrought by secrets and good intentions gone awry.” —Publishers Weekly

For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this “unsettling…compelling” (Glamour) thriller explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets.

It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother.

But Betty’s world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London’s press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher—and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace.

And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives—and the life of an innocent man—forever. The revelations in Powell’s haunting debut will give you chills, and her unforgettable heroine will break your heart.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Gripping from the first page, this is a remarkable debut. I highly recommend it." - Katie Fforde

"A quirky, vivid, original writer who catches the strangeness of time passing." - Maggie Gee

"An eerie and sorrowful tale, beautifully-told: a hugely impressive debut." - Joanna Kavenna


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Under Pressure
(Dr. Lucas Page, book 2)
Robert Pobi
thumb
The Silent Victim
(Jessie Tucker Mystery, book 1)
Dana Perry

Used availability for Laura Powell 2's The Unforgotten

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-68324-813-9 / 978-1-68324-813-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sterling Mystery Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten: A Novel
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-5011-8122-X / 978-1-5011-8122-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten: A Novel
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-5011-8425-3 / 978-1-5011-8425-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-5011-9311-2 / 978-1-5011-9311-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-910449-59-8 / 978-1-910449-59-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Freight Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-84391-573-1 / 978-1-84391-573-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Nova
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2015 : UK Paperback

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-84391-574-X / 978-1-84391-574-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hesperus Nova
Availability: Amazon UK   


2015 : UK Paperback

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-84381-474-9 / 978-1-84381-474-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hesperus Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-4862-9787-0 / 978-1-4862-9787-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
ISBN: 1-4862-9786-2 / 978-1-4862-9786-3 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


April 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Unforgotten: A Novel
Author(s): Laura Powell
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA