book cover of The Orphanage
Added by 22 of our members

The Orphanage

(2021)
(The first book in the Shilling Grange Children's Home series)
A novel by

 
 
Shilling Grange Orphanage, England, 1948.She was their only hope. Now they are hers. A gritty, heartbreaking and unforgettable story of love and hope in the darkest of times.

Clara Newton is the new Housemother of Shilling Grange Orphanage. Many of the children have been bombed out of their homes and left without families, their lives torn apart by the war, just like Clara’s. Devastated by the loss of her fiancé, a brave American pilot, she is just looking for a place to start again.

But the orphans are in desperate need of her help. Funds are short, children cry out in the night,

and tearful Rita tells Clara terrible stories about the nuns who previously ran Shilling Grange. Clara cannot bear to see them suffer, but what does she know about how to look after eight little ones?

Clara can’t get anything right, and then she accidentally ruins Rita’s only memento of her mother. Overwhelmed, she wonders if they’d be better off without her. But she’s not completely alone. Living next door is Ivor: ex-Shilling Grange resident, war hero, and handyman with deep brown eyes. He doesn’t trust Clara and she is fiercely independent, but he has a way with the children. And with his support and the help of other locals, Clara begins to find her way.

As she heals from her grief and adjusts to her new life, Clara wonders if she has finally found her home and family among the orphans. Can she find the strength to fight for them when nobody else will?And dare she open her heart to love again?

A heart-wrenching and totally gripping read. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloeand The Orphan Sisters won’t be able to put this book down.

Readers absolutely love The Orphanage:

Wow… this book is outstanding… I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What an emotional read!At parts I found myself shouting “no”. At others I just criedAbsolutely loved it… Fully recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I took to all the children with all my heart, such an emotional tale… full of love, compassion and humour… a truly remarkable touching story.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely loved this… The writing is wonderful and the characters are beautifully nuanced and developed… I could hardly bear to finish it... Highly recommend!’ Jill Mansell ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It took me about two pages to fall in love with Clara… this book just kept me wanting to know more.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book warmed my heart… Each character is so very special. You will laugh at their childish pranks, their little escapades and cheer at their successes… A delightful, heart-warming story with love, laughter, and a bit of sadness. I hope you love this book as much as I did.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘All I can say is I can’t wait for book 2, I'm dying to know what happens next. The writing is gripping… As a child survivor of children’s homes I wish we had had a Clara!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lizzie Page's The Orphanage

Paperback Editions

August 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: An absolutely heartbreaking and unputdownable historical fiction page-turner (Shilling Grange Children's Home)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
ISBN: 1-80019-206-1 / 978-1-80019-206-5
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: Absolutely Heartbreaking Historical Fiction (Shilling Grange Children's Home, Book 1)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


August 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: Absolutely Heartbreaking Historical Fiction (Shilling Grange Children's Home, Book 1)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: Absolutely Heartbreaking Historical Fiction (Shilling Grange Children's Home, Book 1)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: Absolutely Heartbreaking Historical Fiction (Shilling Grange Children's Home, Book 1)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Orphanage: An absolutely heartbreaking and unputdownable historical fiction page-turner (Shilling Grange Children's Home Book 1)
Author(s): Lizzie Page
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU