New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Innsmouth Cycle

The Innsmouth Cycle

An anthology of stories edited by"I&auml;! Y'ha-nthlei! City of our blood / Where ancient kinfolk call for my return / To long-drowned altars where strange votives burn / For Him who dreaming waits beneath the flood... / My journey to your depths begins tonight / To serve immortal till the stars turn right."

These lines from a poem by Ann K. Schwader are the coda for this fine collection of tales about H.P. Lovecraft's Innsmouth--that decadent, smugly rotting New England town where half-human creatures with forbidding batrachian faces follow the arcane practices of the Esoteric Order of Dagon. In his erudite and witty introduction, Robert M. Price calls Innsmouth "the most effective, most evocative ... example of Lovecraft's full-blown alien civilizations." The Innsmouth Cycle includes 13 stories and 3 poems, including the three tales by Lord Dunsany, Robert W. Chambers, and Irvin S. Cobb that inspired Lovecraft's "The Shadow over Innsmouth." This collection is planned as the first of a pair, the second half of which will be Tales of Innsmouth, containing (according to Price) all new works of "fishy fiction."

A fun detail: this book is "respectfully dedicated to Ben Chapman, the Creature from the Black Lagoon." --Fiona Webster

Used availability for Robert M Price's The Innsmouth Cycle

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

November 1997 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Innsmouth Cycle: The Taint of the Deep Ones (Call of Cthulhu Fiction)
Author(s): H P Lovecraft
ISBN: 1-56882-113-1 / 978-1-56882-113-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Chaosium
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for