book cover of The Butcher of Berner Street
Added by 15 of our members
 

The Butcher of Berner Street

(2020)
(The third book in the Leo Stanhope series)
A novel by

 
 
The latest atmospheric mystery from the author of the Richard and the Judy Book Club choice, The House on Half Moon Street.

'Exceptional – you hear and smell and taste Victorian London' Sarah Hilary

The headlines scream warnings about the 'Butcher of Berner Street!' and the journalist behind them – Leo Stanhope – is secretly thrilled to see the effect his words are having.

Leo is used to covering more mundane issues, but when an anonymous letter summons him to a club in East London, only for the owner of the club to be found murdered shortly afterwards, Leo sees a story worth pursuing. Not to mention an opportunity to make a name for himself.

Yet the more Leo digs, the stranger the story becomes, taking him from the club to a nearby convent, and into the past of a very unusual woman. But he is not the only one hunting for a killer. And it seems Leo's newspaper reports may have put someone else in grave danger…

The Butcher of Berner Street is a brilliantly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor.

____________________

The latest Leo Stanhope case, The Blood Flower, is available to pre-order now - out July 2022!
____________________


Genre: Historical Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Alex Reeve's The Butcher of Berner Street


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors