Amy Stewart's picture
50 followers

Amy Stewart



Amy Stewart is the author of seven books. Her latest, Girl Waits With Gun, is a novel based on a true story. She has also written six nonfiction books on the perils and pleasures of the natural world, including four New York Times bestsellers: The Drunken Botanist, Wicked Bugs, Wicked Plants, and Flower Confidential.  She lives in Eureka, California, with her husband Scott Brown, who is a rare book dealer. They own a bookstore called Eureka Books. The store is housed in a classic nineteenth-century Victorian building that Amy very much hopes is haunted.

Genres: Historical Mystery
 
Amy Stewart recommends
thumb
Relief Map (2016)
Rosalie Knecht
"Rosalie Knecht is a fierce and ferocious storyteller, with a gift for taking the ordinary and making it both beautiful and terrifying."
thumb
Girl in Disguise (2017)
Greer Macallister
"Electrifing... a rollicking nineteenth-century thrill ride."
thumb
Creatures of Will & Temper (2017)
(Creatures , book 1)
Molly Tanzer
"There has never been a better time for a spirited, feminist reinvention of The Picture of Dorian Gray. Molly Tanzer has taken a wickedly sensuous classic and transformed it into a lively supernatural tale featuring lovestruck teenagers, diabolical botanicals, mysterious paintings, and -- oh, yes -- demons. Creatures of Will and Temper is a wild ride from start to finish, beautifully and boldly written, and a most worthy successor to Oscar Wilde's scandalous novel."
thumb
The Body in Griffith Park (2019)
(Anna Blanc Mystery, book 3)
Jennifer Kincheloe
"A wild romp through turn-of-the-century Los Angeles...Anna Blanc is a blast!."
thumb
An Old Man's Game (2019)
(Amos Parisman Mystery, book 1)
Andy Weinberger
"Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he's written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it's a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA's seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don't want another Amos Parisman novel--I want a dozen more!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors