book cover of The Tears of Angels
Added by 21 of our members

The Tears of Angels

(2015)
(The sixth book in the Anderson and Costello series)
A novel by

 
 
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Loved it, Caro! Your best so far and I’ve loved them all.” A reader in the UK

Meet your next favourite Scottish detectives: DI Colin Anderson and DS Winifred ‘Freddie’ Costello.

One year ago.
Two boys are killed on a remote Scottish island.
A third boy barely makes it back to shore alive.
He says a man from the campground did it.

Now.
A 92-year-old woman is found burned to death in her home. On the same day, a man’s mutilated corpse is discovered in a field. His arms have been ripped from their sockets and a Tarot card stuffed in his mouth.

The police connect the armless man to the island murders. But was he really responsible? And how is he linked to the death of the old woman?

Detectives Anderson and Costello must dig up the past to connect crimes old and new in a case where nothing is as it seems.

AN ELECTRIFYING SCOTTISH THRILLER WITH A HEART-STOPPING FINALE.

Fans of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Matt Brolly, Carol Wyer, Joy Ellis, Stuart MacBride, Angela Marsons, Helen H. Durrant, JD Kirk, DS Butler and LJ Ross will love this series.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE TEARS OF ANGELS:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A real page-turner. Beautifully written — as are all Caro Ramsey’s previous books in the Anderson & Costello series. Super plot and an unexpected conclusion.” Christine

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Unusual storyline which had me riveted until the conclusion.
Yet again Caro Ramsay delivers a great read.” R.M. Houston

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Another gripping read by Caro Ramsay!!” Krystyna

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “How has this series got to book 6 without me discovering it!?” Kath

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Another excellent novel from the pen of Caro Ramsay.” Maggie

“[Ramsay] draws us in with an eerily mystical setting and then with a few pen strokes imbues her characters with distinct personalities, warts and all. Her writing is always very human and she has a sharp eye to the foibles of people. I highly recommend The Tears of Angels for those into police procedurals with a huge dose of humanity thrown in.” thecrimewarp.blogspot.com

THE DETECTIVES
DI Colin Anderson: A well-qualified graduate with true Scottish grit. He’s calm, efficient and focused — despite his marriage falling apart, and the fact that he’s just a tiny bit in love with the boss’s wife.

DS Winifred “Freddie” Costello: Pithy, sometimes crabbit (as they say in Glasgow), Costello is incredibly capable, but not above pushing boundaries when needed. She’s a well-respected officer who always puts police work first. She’s had a crush on DCI McAlpine for many years now, but that doesn’t stop her getting the job done.

THE SETTING
Drizzly, grey Glasgow and its seedy backstreets along with up-and-coming new estates is the setting for this gritty series. The realities of poverty and crime are laid bare — with the underfunded police department trying to keep the damn from breaking.

DETECTIVES ANDERSON AND COSTELLO MYSTERIES
Book 1: ABSOLUTION
Book 2: SINGING TO THE DEAD
Book 3: DARK WATER
Book 4: THE BLOOD OF CROWS
Book 5: THE NIGHT HUNTER
Book 6: THE TEARS OF ANGELS
Book 7: RAT RUN
Book 8: STANDING STILL
Book 9: THE SUFFERING OF STRANGERS
Book 10: THE SIDEMAN
Book 11: THE RED, RED SNOW

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Caro Ramsay's The Tears of Angels

Hardback Editions

December 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: A Scottish Police Procedural: 6 (An Anderson & Costello Mystery, 6)
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
ISBN: 0-7278-7127-7 / 978-0-7278-7127-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: A Scottish Police Procedural: 6 (An Anderson & Costello Mystery, 6)
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
ISBN: 0-7278-8515-4 / 978-0-7278-8515-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: A Scottish Police Procedural: 6 (An Anderson & Costello Mystery, 6)
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
ISBN: 1-84751-617-3 / 978-1-84751-617-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: Anderson and Costello, Book 6
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


July 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: Anderson and Costello, Book 6
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: Anderson and Costello, Book 6
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tears of Angels: Anderson and Costello, Book 6
Author(s): Caro Ramsay
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: THE TEARS OF ANGELS an absolutely gripping Scottish crime thriller (Detectives Anderson and Costello Mystery Book 6)
Author(s): CARO RAMSAY
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU