book cover of The German Wife
Added by 31 of our members
 

The German Wife

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
Inspired by true events, this is a heart-stopping, unforgettable story of ordinary people fighting for survival in the darkest of times. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and My Name is Eva will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, tragic World War Two novel.

Germany, 1939:Annaliese is trapped in a loveless marriage. Her husband Hans has become cold and secretive since starting a new job as a doctor at Dachau. Every morning she watches from her kitchen window as he leaves in his car. The sight of him in the dark uniform of the SS sends shivers of fear down her spine and she longs to escape…

When a tall, handsome Russian prisoner named Alexander is sent from Dachau to work in their garden, lonely Annaliese finds herself drawn to him as they tend to the plants together. In snatched moments and broken whispers, Alexander tells her the shocking truth about the camp. Horrified, Annaliese vows to do everything she can to save him.

But as they grow closer, their feelings for each other put their lives at risk. And Annaliese finds herself in grave danger when she dares to fight for love and freedom…

America, 1989: Turning the pages of the newspaper, Annaliese gasps when she recognizes the face of a man she thought she’d never see again. It makes her heart skip a beat as a rush of wartime memories come flooding back to her. As she reads on, she realizes the past is catching up with her. And she must confront a decades-old secret – or risk losing her only son…

Readers love The German Wife:

Exceptionalgripped me right from the very startheart-wrenching… so beautifully written with real moments of bravery and hope… heart-breakingI loved this bookand I wish I could reread it again for the first time as it truly is that special. Five stars just isn’t enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WowI am sobbing.I loved this book so muchI completely devoured this book and it will stay with me a long time. Absolute 5 stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-stopping, unforgettable tale of ordinary people fighting for survival in the darkest of times… kept me glued to my Kindle through the whole book!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-wrenching, extremely sad, and completely gripping WWII story! I was hooked from the first chapter and stayed glued all the way until the end, in one sitting! @ink_drinker64, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough and was amazed to realise that I had read the book from beginning to end in less than 24 hours, using up more than its fair share of my desktop tissue box along the way! Amazing grippingaddictivewonderful.’ Fiction Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Had megripped… filled with secrets and lies and a devastatinglove and loss.Wonderfulstory telling.’ Kraftireader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Found myself hanging on to every word and every plot twistan incredibly emotional read… brilliant historical fiction.’ Readsbyem, ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Debbie Rix's The German Wife

Paperback Editions

January 2022 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The German Wife: An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical novel, inspired by true events
Author(s): Debbie Rix
ISBN: 1-80019-548-6 / 978-1-80019-548-6
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The German Wife: An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical novel, inspired by true events
Author(s): Debbie Rix
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU