book cover of Lights out in Lincolnwood
Added by 3 of our members
 

Lights out in Lincolnwood

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A mordantly funny, all-too-real novel in the vein of Tom Perotta and Emma Straub about a suburban American family who have to figure out how to survive themselves and their neighbors in the wake of a global calamity that upends all of modern life.

It’s Tuesday morning in Lincolnwood, New Jersey, and all four members of the Altman family are busy ignoring each other en route to work and school. Dan, a lawyer turned screenwriter, is preoccupied with satisfying his imperious TV producer boss’s creative demands. Seventeen-year-old daughter Chloe obsesses over her college application essay and the state tennis semifinals. Her vape-addicted little brother, Max, silently plots revenge against a thuggish freshman classmate. And their MBA-educated mom Jen, who gave up a successful business career to raise the kids, is counting the minutes until the others vacate the kitchen and she can pour her first vodka of the day. 

 Then, as the kids begin their school day and Dan rides a commuter train into Manhattan, the world comes to a sudden, inexplicable stop. Lights, phones, laptops, cars, trains…the entire technological infrastructure of 21st-century society quits working. Normal life, as the Altmans and everyone else knew it, is over.

 Or is it? 

 Over four transformative, chaotic days, this privileged but clueless American family will struggle to hold it together in the face of water shortages, paramilitary neighbors, and the well-mannered looting of the local Whole Foods as they try to figure out just what the hell is going on.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Geoff Rodkey’s Lights Out in Lincolnwood is a witty, wise, engaging story about the way we live now — and the way we’ll live when it all goes down." - Steve Hely

"Lights Out in Lincolnwood is an instantly addictive, high-velocity tale of domestic tumult set against the beginning of the end of the world. Teeming with suburban pathos, crackling humor, and disarming tenderness, this novel brilliantly reveals that nothing—not even the impending collapse of civilization as we know it—imperils us more than our own weaknesses and desires. Rodkey has crafted an emotionally intelligent, ultra-modern family comedy that upends our expectations at every turn and exposes the fundamental messiness of human connection." - Cassidy Lucas


Used availability for Geoff Rodkey's Lights out in Lincolnwood

Hardback Editions

September 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-4711-9742-5 / 978-1-4711-9742-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-4711-9745-X / 978-1-4711-9745-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-4711-9743-3 / 978-1-4711-9743-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood: A Novel
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 0-06-306592-4 / 978-0-06-306592-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood: A Novel
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-66509-899-6 / 978-1-66509-899-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood: A Novel
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-66509-900-3 / 978-1-66509-900-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood: Library Edition
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
ISBN: 1-66509-898-8 / 978-1-66509-898-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2021 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out in Lincolnwood: A Novel
Author(s): Geoff Rodkey
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA