book cover of Dark Horse
Added by 3 of our members

Dark Horse

(2010)
(The first book in the Jim Knighthorse series)
A novel by

 
 
Dark Horse takes place in Huntington Beach, California. Surf City, U.S.A. Written in the tradition of Robert B. Parker's Spenser and Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe, Dark Horse introduces a new hard-hitting, wise-cracking hero with a modern twist.

When high school student Derrick Booker, the only black student at a posh Orange County high school, is accused of killing his white girlfriend, ex-college football hero and detective Jim Knighthorse is hired to dig a little deeper into the murder. It doesn't take long for Knighthorse to realize that not all is as it seems at tranquil Huntington High, from a band director who preys on the innocent to a vice-principal with a secret agenda of her own. Not to mention someone's hired a professional killer to keep Knighthorse permanently off the case.

As the investigation continues, Knighthorse's personal life is shattered by the discovery of new evidence relating to his mother's unsolved murder, a murder dating back twenty years. Reeling from the discovery, a determined Jim Knighthorse sets out to bring two killers to justice.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Dark Horse is one of the best books I've read in a long time! A great classic detective story with a modern twist. Unique and interesting characters (I think I'm half in love with Jim Knighthorse now!), a great plot that kept me guessing until the end, and some of the funniest lines I've read anywhere." - Gemma Halliday


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Dangerous Man
(Elvis Cole and Joe Pike, book 18)
Robert Crais
thumb
Wolf Pack
(Joe Pickett, book 19)
C J Box
thumb
The Shaming Eyes
(Nick Drake, book 3)
Dwight Holing

Used availability for J R Rain's Dark Horse

Paperback Editions

September 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Horse (Jim Knighthorse)
Author(s): J R Rain
ISBN: 1-72029-784-3 / 978-1-72029-784-0
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Horse
Author(s): J R Rain
ISBN: 1-5058-7811-X / 978-1-5058-7811-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Dark Horse (Jim Knighthorse #1)
Author(s): J R Rain
ISBN: 1-300-66473-8 / 978-1-300-66473-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: lulu.com
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2010 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dark Horse (Jim Knighthorse Book 1)
Author(s): J R Rain
Publisher: Rain Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU