Jonathan Raban's picture

Jonathan Raban

UK flag (b.1942)

Jonathan Raban is the author of Soft City, Arabia, Foreign Land, Old Glory, For Love and Money, Hunting Mister Heartbreak, Bad Land, and Passage to Juneau; he has also edited The Oxford Book of the Sea.

Raban has received the National Book Critics Circle Award (for Bad Land), the Heinemann Award for Literature, the Thomas Cook Award, the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Award, the Governor's Award of the State of Washington, and the PEN West Creative Nonfiction Award, among others. Raban lives in Seattle, with his daughter.
Jonathan Raban recommends
Wheat That Springeth Green (1988)
J F Powers
"One of the funniest, most socially exact, most heart rending and most thoroughly enjoyable writers alive."
A Dead Hand (2009)
Paul Theroux
"The most gifted, the most prodigal writer of his generation."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors