"A fiery thriller." —Kikrus

"Breathless." —School Library Journal

A queer YA reimagining of Thelma & Louise with the aesthetic of Riverdale, for fans of Mindy McGinnis, Courtney Summers, and Rory Power.


Love on the dark side of freedom

When Trixie picks up her best friend Lux for their weekend getaway, they’re looking to forget the despair of being trapped in their dead-end rustbelt town. The girls are packing light: a supply of Diet Coke and an ‘89 Canon to help Lux frame the world in a sunnier light; half a pack of cigarettes that Trixie doesn’t really smoke, and a knife she’s hanging on to for a friend that she’s never used before.

But a single night of violence derails their trip, and the girls go from ordinary high schoolers to wanted fugitives. Trying to stay ahead of the cops and a hellscape of media attention, Trixie and Lux grapple with an unforgiving landscape, rapidly diminishing supplies, and disastrous decisions at every turn. As they are transformed by the media into the face of a #MeToo movement they didn’t ask to lead, Trixie and Lux realize that they can only rely on each other, and that the love they find together is the one thing that truly makes them free.

Julia Lynn Rubin takes readers on “a blistering, unapologetic thrill ride” (Emma Berquis) that will leave them haunted and reeling. Trouble Girls is a “a powerful, beautifully-written gut punch” (Sophie Gonzales).

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"A blistering, unapologetic thrill ride. You can't help but fall in love with these messy, complicated, unforgettable girls." - Emma Berquist

"A dark and delicious road trip story perfect for our time." - Demetra Brodsky

"A love story that sings with rage and resilience." - Hannah Capin

"A wild getaway full of grit and glitter, joy and heartache, devastation and empowerment." - Emma Lord

"A beautifully written and deeply thoughtful variation on the classic trope of the criminal duo on the run. Like the main character, Trixie, this book will leave you with no regrets." - Dana Mele

"I wanted to fill their gas tank and buy them a bag of groceries. I rooted for Trixie and Lux so hard. You will too." - Lygia Day Peñaflor

"With twists, turns, and a prickle of unease that follows the reader from beginning to end, Trouble Girls promises to keep the pages turning." - Ashley Schumacher


Used availability for Julia Lynn Rubin's Trouble Girls

Hardback Editions

June 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
ISBN: 1-250-75724-X / 978-1-250-75724-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
ISBN: 1-250-75725-8 / 978-1-250-75725-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   


June 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Trouble Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Lynn Rubin
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU