book cover of My Mother\'s Secret
Added by 7 of our members
 

My Mother's Secret

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
‘They told me he died, but I never believed them. I’d have known,’ she says, her voice little more than a whisper and her eyes searching mine. ‘A mother would know if her child died, wouldn’t she?’

The phone call comes in the middle of the night, rousing Danni from her safe, warm bed. The police have found her mother Diana wandering miles from her house, confused and lost. Danni races to her mother’s side – and as usual, Diana doesn’t seem to want her there. But when Danni finds out that her mother is seriously ill, she decides to put the past behind her, and care for her mother in the time they have left.

But as some of Diana’s memories are slipping away, others are forcing their way to the surface. One night she breaks down and reveals that before Danni was born, she had another baby who never got to see the world. Faced with her mother’s heartbreak, Danni vows to do everything she can to bring Diana some peace, hoping that it will mend their fractured relationship too.

Yet as Danni investigates the past, tracking down the aunt she’s never met and searching for her lost brother’s resting place, her good intentions have unexpected consequences as more truths emerge. And there’s one shocking revelation which could change Danni’s life forever. Are some secrets best left buried?

A completely heartbreaking and compelling story of families, secrets, and the fierce love between mothers and children. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Ali Mercer and Jodi Picoult will smile through their tears.

See what readers are saying about My Mother’s Secret:


Truly emotional… Will make your heart break… There were definite tears leakingJen Med’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Such an emotional readThe emotion is poured out into every single page!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Had me flipping over the pages at speed… Make sure you have tissues at hand… A tearjerker of a read!’ Carla Kovach, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I lovedMy Mother's SecretI wept… Touching, emotional and convincing… Excellent.’ Linda’s Book Bag, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A very emotional story… I love the book and kudos to the author for that one revelation that made my jaw drop to the floor.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I feel like I have been on an emotional rollercoaster’ NetGalley Reviewer

Brilliant I just couldn't stop reading… I can thoroughly recommend this book.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Julia Roberts's My Mother's Secret

Paperback Editions

January 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: My Mother's Secret: A completely gripping and emotional page-turner
Author(s): Julia Roberts
ISBN: 1-80019-276-2 / 978-1-80019-276-8
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Secret: A Completely Gripping and Emotional Listen
Author(s): Julia Roberts
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Secret: A Completely Gripping and Emotional Listen
Author(s): Julia Roberts
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Secret: A completely gripping and emotional page-turner
Author(s): Julia Roberts
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU