book cover of The Secret Messenger

The Secret Messenger

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Set between German-occupied 1940s Venice and modern-day London, this is a fascinating tale of the bravery of everyday women in the darkest corners of WWII, for readers of Kate Quinn's The Alice Network and Pam Jenoff's The Lost Girls of Paris.

Venice, 1943
The world is at war, and Stella Jilani is leading a double life. By day she works in the lion's den as a typist for the Reich office; by night, she risks her life as a messenger for the Italian resistance. Against all odds, Stella must impart Nazi secrets, smuggle essential supplies across the city, and produce an underground newspaper on her beloved typewriter.

But when German commander, General Breugal, becomes suspicious, it seems he will stop at nothing to find the mole, and Stella knows she faces an uncertain future...

London, 2017
Years later, grieving Luisa Belmont finds a mysterious old typewriter in her attic. Determined to find out who it belonged to, Luisa delves into the past, and uncovers a story of fierce love, unimaginable sacrifice, and, ultimately, the worst kind of betrayal...

Genre: Inspirational

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Kommandant's Girl
(Kommandant's Girl, book 1)
Pam Jenoff

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Mandy Robotham Untitled Book 2
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-837604-2 / 978-0-00-837604-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secret Messenger
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
ISBN: 0-00-832426-3 / 978-0-00-832426-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Messenger
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Messenger
Author(s): Mandy Robotham
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU