book cover of Find You in the Dark
Added by 9 of our members

Find You in the Dark

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In this “fast-paced, morbidly addictive novel of chilling infatuation” (Iain Reid, bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things)—perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series—a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who is determined to keep his secrets uncovered.

For years, unbeknownst to his wife and teenage daughter, Martin Reese has been illegally buying police files on serial killers and obsessively studying them, using them as guides to find the missing bodies of victims. He doesn’t take any souvenirs, just photos that he stores in an old laptop, and then he turns in the results anonymously. Martin sees his work as a public service, a righting of wrongs.

Detective Sandra Whittal sees the situation differently. On a meteoric rise in police ranks due to her case‑closing efficiency, Whittal is suspicious of the mysterious source she calls the Finder, especially since he keeps leading the police right to the bodies. How can he know where all these bodies are located if he’s not the one putting them there?

On his latest dig, Martin searches for the first kill of Jason Shurn, the early 1990s murderer who may have been responsible for the disappearance of his wife’s sister. But when he arrives at the site, he finds more than just bones. There’s a freshly killed body—a young and missing Seattle woman—lying there. Someone else knew where Jason Shurn left the corpses of his victims…and that someone isn’t happy that Martin has been going around digging up his work. And when a crooked cop with a tenuous tie to Martin vanishes, Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder.

“A wickedly smart thriller that manages to be both chilling and wry” (Amy Stuart, bestselling author of Still Mine), Find You in the Dark will haunt you long after you turn the final page.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"One heck of an addictive thriller. Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is an original, inventive take on what happens when you go looking where you shouldn’t." - Jennifer Hillier

"Crafty and dark, Nathan Ripley's novel toys with the lines between predator and prey, his sentences as careful and considered as the crimes he depicts...a truly exciting new voice in the thriller world." - Roz Nay

"Find You in the Dark is an unsettling exploration of obsession you won't soon forget. Nathan Ripley delivers a first novel that fans of Patricia Highsmith psychological thrills and Thomas Harris cat-and-mouse suspense will devour. I certainly did." - Andrew Pyper

"A fast-paced, morbidly addictive novel of chilling infatuation. Ripley's impressive debut is a rich and innovative thriller." - Iain Reid

"A wickedly smart thriller that manages to be both chilling and wry. The page-turning plot . . . is thickened by a great cast of characters and Nathan Ripley's fantastic eye for detail and dialogue. Just when you think you've got a grasp on it, the story twists to new and darker places." - Amy Stuart


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Still Mine
(Clare and Malcolm, book 1)
Amy Stuart
thumb
She Lies in Wait
(DCI Jonah Sheens, book 1)
Gytha Lodge

Used availability for Nathan Ripley's Find You in the Dark

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-4328-5971-4 / 978-1-4328-5971-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7820-2 / 978-1-5011-7820-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7821-0 / 978-1-5011-7821-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-982131-87-X / 978-1-982131-87-6
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7908-X / 978-1-5011-7908-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-982100-36-2 / 978-1-982100-36-0
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-911231-19-7 / 978-1-911231-19-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Text Publishing Company
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7903-9 / 978-1-5011-7903-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5082-5445-1 / 978-1-5082-5445-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5082-6467-8 / 978-1-5082-6467-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA