book cover of Find You in the Dark
Added by 14 of our members

Find You in the Dark

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A chilling debut thriller in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr Ripley.

Martin Reese has a hobby: he digs up murder victims.

He buys stolen police files on serial killers, and uses them to find and dig up missing bodies. Calls in the results anonymously, taunting the police for their failure to do their job.

Detective Sandra Whittal takes that a little personally. She’s suspicious of the mysterious caller, who she names the Finder. Maybe he’s the one leaving the bodies behind. If not, who’s to say he won’t start soon?

As Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder, Martin makes a shocking discovery. It seems someone—someone lethal—is very unhappy about the bodies he’s been digging up.

Hunted by a cop, hunted by a killer. To escape and keep his family safe, Martin may have to go deeper into the world of murder than he ever imagined.

Nathan Ripley is the pseudonym of Naben Ruthnum, a winner of Canada’s prestigious Journey Prize for best short story published by an emerging writer. He lives in Toronto.

‘[Ripley’s] tight prose and masterly manipulation pay dividends.’ SAWeekend

‘One heck of an addictive thriller. Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is an original, inventive take on what happens when you go looking where you shouldn’t.’ Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts and Wonderland

‘Detective Sandra Whittal is inspirational in her single-minded focus and toughness…Ripley’s dialogue shines.’ Abbey’s Bookshop

‘Chillingly believable…An impressive debut novel.’ BookMooch

‘The overall story depicting a murderer’s manipulation and depravity is engrossing.’ Library Journal

‘An absorbing read.’ Good Reading

‘A deeply disturbing read, with vivid scenes and complex psychology, Find You in the Dark lingers long after the last page has been devoured...An addictive debut.’ Toronto Star

‘Well planned and executed, Nathan Ripley brings a unique and fresh voice to the crime thriller genre.’ Real Book Spy

‘...a chilling and disquieting debut thriller...You’ll stay up all night with this one.’ Criminal Element

‘A fun, yet disturbing, work.’ Medium

‘Dexter fans will enjoy the creepy vibe.’ Publishers Weekly

‘This debut thriller by the pseudonymous Ripley (Journey Prize winner Naben Ruthnum) is highly recommended for fans of Lee Child and C.J. Box.’ Library Journal

‘This is a novel with a most unique premise...Find You in the Dark is a well-written, if sometimes gruesome tale of one man’s determination...It’s a chilling story of a man who could’ve conceivably become a serial killer pitted against one who actually is.’ New York Journal of Books

‘Massively entertaining, with a lovely dollop of weirdness…Delicious.’ Northern Crime

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"One heck of an addictive thriller. Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is an original, inventive take on what happens when you go looking where you shouldn’t." - Jennifer Hillier

"Crafty and dark, Nathan Ripley's novel toys with the lines between predator and prey, his sentences as careful and considered as the crimes he depicts...a truly exciting new voice in the thriller world." - Roz Nay

"Find You in the Dark is an unsettling exploration of obsession you won't soon forget. Nathan Ripley delivers a first novel that fans of Patricia Highsmith psychological thrills and Thomas Harris cat-and-mouse suspense will devour. I certainly did." - Andrew Pyper

"A fast-paced, morbidly addictive novel of chilling infatuation. Ripley's impressive debut is a rich and innovative thriller." - Iain Reid

"A wickedly smart thriller that manages to be both chilling and wry. The page-turning plot . . . is thickened by a great cast of characters and Nathan Ripley's fantastic eye for detail and dialogue. Just when you think you've got a grasp on it, the story twists to new and darker places." - Amy Stuart


Used availability for Nathan Ripley's Find You in the Dark

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-4328-5971-4 / 978-1-4328-5971-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7820-2 / 978-1-5011-7820-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7821-0 / 978-1-5011-7821-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-982131-87-X / 978-1-982131-87-6
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Canada
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7908-X / 978-1-5011-7908-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-982100-36-2 / 978-1-982100-36-0
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-911231-19-7 / 978-1-911231-19-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Text Publishing Company
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5011-7903-9 / 978-1-5011-7903-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5082-5445-1 / 978-1-5082-5445-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
ISBN: 1-5082-6467-8 / 978-1-5082-6467-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark: A Novel
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Find You in the Dark
Author(s): Nathan Ripley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA