book cover of The Company Daughters
Added by 3 of our members

The Company Daughters

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Wanted: Company Daughters. Virtuous young ladies to become the brides of industrious settlers in a foreign land. The Company will pay the cost of the lady’s dowry and travel. Returns not permitted, orphans preferred.

Amsterdam, 1620. Jana Beil has learned that life rarely provides moments of joy. Having run away from a violent father, her days are spent searching for work in an effort to stay out of the city brothels, where desperate women trade their bodies for a mouthful of bread. But when Jana is hired as a servant for the wealthy and kind Master Reynst and his beautiful daughter Sontje, Jana’s future begins to look brighter.

But then Master Reynst loses his fortune on a bad investment, and everything changes. The house is sold to creditors, leaving Jana back on the street and Sontje without a future.

With no other choice, Jana and Sontje are forced to sign with the East India Company as Company Daughters: sailing to a colonial Dutch outpost to become the brides of male settlers they know nothing about. With fear in their hearts, the girls begin their journey – but what awaits them on the other side of the world is nothing like what they’ve been promised…

Based on true history, this is a beautiful and sensual historical novel, perfect for fans of The Girl with the Pearl Earring, The Miniaturist and The Indigo Girl.

What readers are saying about The Company Daughters:



I was enchanted by this book! It’s a delightful read that will have your emotions all over the place.’ Goodreads reviewer

Heartbreaking but still in turn a moving book… vivid, with amazing characters… This is a great read.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘This book is so stunningly tender and beautiful, all mixed in with some seriously tragic and heart-wrenching events… Rajaram is an extremely skilled writer, and I love her writing style… The themes of sisterhood and female love were so present in this book and I found it very moving.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I really enjoyed this book… This book has a beauty and grace to it. The author’s writing just flows off the page, and although there are struggles and upsets by the time you close the book over you are filled with a warm glow.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘A powerful and insightful read. I look forward to reading more historical work by Samantha Rajaram!’ Goodreads reviewer

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Paperback Editions

October 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Company Daughters: A heart-wrenching colonial love story
Author(s): Samantha Rajaram
ISBN: 1-80019-176-6 / 978-1-80019-176-1
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Company Daughters: A heart-wrenching colonial love story
Author(s): Samantha Rajaram
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU