book cover of The Mersey Orphan
Added by 10 of our members

The Mersey Orphan

(2019)
(The first book in the Reckoner's Row series)
A novel by

 
 

'A thoroughly enjoyable, powerful novel' Lyn Andrews
'An enchanting, warm and deeply touching story' Cathy Sharp

Winter, Liverpool 1947.



Evie Kilgaren is a fighter. Abandoned by her mother and with her father long gone, she is left to raise her siblings in dockside Liverpool, as they battle against the coldest winter on record. But she is determined to make a life for herself and create a happy home for what's left of her family.

Desperate for work, Evie takes a job at the Tram Tavern under the kindly watch of pub landlady, and pillar of the community, Connie Sharp. But Connie has problems of her own when her quiet life of spinsterhood is upturned with the arrival of a mysterious undercover detective from out of town.



When melting ice reveals a body in the canal, things take a turn for the worst for the residents of Reckoner's Row. Who could be responsible for such a brutal attack? And can Evie keep her family safe before they strike again?

A gritty, historical family drama full of laughter and tears from the author of Annie Groves' bestsellers including Child of the Mersey and Christmas on the Mersey. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.

'I found The Orphan Daughter a thoroughly enjoyable, powerful novel set against the background of a war-battered city still struggling against austerity, rationing, the black market and poverty. A fast paced story-line and believable characters added to the authenticity of what I am sure will be the beginning of a series of successful books for Sheila Riley.' Lyn Andrews
'An enchanting, warm and deeply touching story about a brave young girl fighting against injustice. Loved it and look forward to her next book.' Cathy Sharp, author of the best-selling  Orphans of Halfpenny Street.





What readers are saying about The Mersey Orphan:


'Oh what a wonderful story this is. I enjoyed every bit of Evies story suffering lots of traumas and struggles in her life. This book will definitely keep you reading on chapter after chapter I really enjoyed it, and looking forward to more from this author. A beautiful family saga.'

'Excellent story with characters that pull at your heartstrings.'

'Powerful, emotional and intense, The Orphan Daughter has at its heart a fantastic heroine readers will root for and a cast of brilliantly nuanced characters it is impossible not to care about. Written straight from the heart, The Orphan Daughter is a must-read for saga fans everywhere!'

'A really heart warming read for the winter months. Lovely characters, richly drawn and well rounded.'

'From the first page I was hooked. I've loved reading this fabulous story.'

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Over the Rainbow
(Liverpool Sisters, book 3)
Katie Flynn
thumb
The Tobacco Girls
(Tobacco Girls, book 1)
Lizzie Lane

Used availability for Sheila Riley's The Mersey Orphan

Hardback Editions

December 2020 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Mersey Orphan
Author(s): Sheila Riley
ISBN: 1-80048-910-2 / 978-1-80048-910-3
Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mersey Orphan
Author(s): Sheila Riley
ISBN: 1-83889-659-7 / 978-1-83889-659-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mersey Orphan
Author(s): Sheila Riley
ISBN: 1-83889-320-2 / 978-1-83889-320-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
ISBN: 1-83889-326-1 / 978-1-83889-326-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
ISBN: 1-83889-358-X / 978-1-83889-358-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan Daughter
Author(s): Sheila Riley
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mersey Orphan: A gripping family saga with a twist (Reckoner's Row Book 1)
Author(s): Sheila Riley
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU