book cover of The Medicine Woman of Galveston
Added by 10 members
 

The Medicine Woman of Galveston

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
In a uniquely vivid story of women in medicine, found family, and conquering fear for readers of Kristin Hannah, Ellen Marie Wiseman, and Audrey Blake, an impoverished former doctor desperate to support her disabled son joins a traveling medicine show on a collision course with the deadliest natural disaster in American history – the Galveston Hurricane of 1900. From the acclaimed author of The Nurse's Secret and The Second Life of Mirielle West.

"Perfect on so many levels that I don't even know where to begin." —Addison Armstrong, Author of The War Librarian

Once a trailblazer in the field of medicine, Dr. Tucia Hatherley hasn’t touched a scalpel or stethoscope since she made a fatal mistake in the operating theater. Instead, she works in a corset factory, striving to earn enough to support her disabled son. When even that livelihood is threatened, Tucia is left with one option—to join a wily, charismatic showman named Huey and become part of his traveling medicine show.

Her medical license lends the show a pretense of credibility, but the cures and tonics Tucia is forced to peddle are little more than purgatives and bathwater. Loathing the duplicity, even as she finds uneasy kinship with the other misfit performers, Tucia vows to leave as soon as her debts are paid and start a new life with her son—if Huey will ever let her go.

When the show reaches Galveston, Texas, Tucia tries to break free from Huey, only to be pulled even deeper into his schemes. But there is a far greater reckoning ahead, as a September storm becomes a devastating hurricane that will decimate the Gulf Coast—and challenge Tucia to recover her belief in medicine, in the goodness of others—and in herself.


Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"The Medicine Woman of Galveston is perfect on so many levels that I don't even know where to begin. The plot itself is strong and powerful, touching on relevant themes such as trauma, identity, and acceptance, and the historical context of traveling medicine shows is fascinating and rich. The characters - even the side characters, many of whom get their own compulsively readable chapters - are full-fledged, strong, and just flawed enough to be human. To no one's surprise, Skenandore has done it again!" - Addison Armstrong


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Amanda Skenandore's The Medicine Woman of Galveston


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors