book cover of The Luminous Dead
Added by 10 of our members

The Luminous Dead

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
"This claustrophobic, horror-leaning tour de force is highly recommended for fans of Jeff VanderMeer's Annihilation and Andy Weir's The Martian." (Publishers Weekly)

A thrilling, atmospheric debut with the intensive drive of The Martian and Gravity and the creeping dread of Annihilation, in which a caver on a foreign planet finds herself on a terrifying psychological and emotional journey for survival.

When Gyre Price lied her way into this expedition, she thought she'd be mapping mineral deposits and that her biggest problems would be cave collapses and gear malfunctions. She also thought that the fat paycheck - enough to get her off-planet and on the trail of her mother - meant she'd get a skilled surface team, monitoring her suit and environment, keeping her safe. Keeping her sane.

Instead, she got Em.

Em sees nothing wrong with controlling Gyre's body with drugs or withholding critical information to "ensure the smooth operation" of her expedition. Em knows all about Gyre's falsified credentials and has no qualms using them as a leash - and a lash. And Em has secrets, too....

As Gyre descends, little inconsistencies - missing supplies, unexpected changes in the route, and worst of all, shifts in Em's motivations - drive her out of her depths. Lost and disoriented, Gyre finds her sense of control giving way to paranoia and anger. On her own in this mysterious, deadly place, surrounded by darkness and the unknown, Gyre must overcome more than just the dangerous terrain and the Tunneler that calls underground its home if she wants to make it out alive - she must confront the ghosts in her own head.

But how come she can't shake the feeling she's being followed?

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"The Luminous Dead dives into the human psyche and our ability for cruelty alongside compassion. Starling crafts a plot tight and gripping, weaves scenes dripping with wonder and terror, and keeps you wondering what's real and what's not until the very last page. Both beautiful and brutal, I loved it." - K A Doore

"A harrowing, merciless descent into the human psyche. Starling's prose is breathtakingly cinematic and left me without a molecule of spare oxygen. This book will catch you by the ankles and drag you backwards into a terrifying and inescapable reality. Read this one with all the lights on." - Sarah Gailey

"An electric mix of The Descent and Gravity, Starling's debut gives us an exciting and terrifying sf adventure set in the dangerous bowels of a distant planet. This story has hidden depths, secrets and mysteries to reveal. Highly recommended from start to finish." - John Hornor Jacobs

"A startling debut. I was truly spooked." - Kelly Robson

"Ghostly, mysterious, and terrifying, The Luminous Dead will have you rooted to the spot until the very last page." - Peng Shepherd

"The Luminous Dead is a gripping scifi thriller with an eerie, claustrophobic setting that held me captive until I finished it. I think part of me was left behind forever in Starling's cave. This book will drag you into its dark, twisting depths and will not let you go." - Emily Suvada

"With The Luminous Dead, Caitlin Starling gives us a confident debut, an imaginative future thriller that barely lets up the tension and claustrophobia. Mistrust and paranoia abound all the way to the end, and Gyre feels every moment of it, widening along with the events, as the poet said." - Tade Thompson

"A tense psychological thriller and a gripping survival story that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. It's a dark ride that's worth every step." - Martha Wells


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Seven Blades in Black
(Grave of Empires, book 1)
Sam Sykes
thumb
Into the Drowning Deep
(Rolling in the Deep, book 2)
Mira Grant

Used availability for Caitlin Starling's The Luminous Dead

Paperback Editions

March 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
ISBN: 0-06-284690-6 / 978-0-06-284690-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
ISBN: 1-982625-69-4 / 978-1-982625-69-6
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: Library Edition
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
ISBN: 1-982625-68-6 / 978-1-982625-68-9
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
ISBN: 1-982625-70-8 / 978-1-982625-70-2
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Luminous Dead: A Novel
Author(s): Caitlin Starling
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU