book cover of The Oracle Year

The Oracle Year

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
From best-selling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a 20-something New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future - perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded website with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the president of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site - as it's come to be called - and the best man hunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust - including a beautiful journalist - it's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes listeners on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Here’s my prediction: this book will seep into your soul. The Oracle Year is about knowing the future—and what you do with that knowledge. As you meet Will Dando, you can’t help but reevaluate yourself. Get ready for the best kind of fun." - Brad Meltzer

"With The Oracle Year, Soule has created something truly special, both a globe-spanning thriller, and a razor-witted look at the modern human condition. The Oracle Year is easily one of the best debuts I’ve read in years." - Scott Snyder

"Soule’s The Oracle Year is like a sliding puzzle, except every time you think you can predict what the image will be, new pieces slide into place. It’s a wonderfully mysterious thriller that proves Soule is as much a master of prose as he is of comic book script." - Chuck Wendig


Similar books by other authors

thumb
One Way
(Frank Kitteridge, book 1)
S J Morden

Used availability for Charles Soule's The Oracle Year

Hardback Editions

April 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
ISBN: 0-06-268663-1 / 978-0-06-268663-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
ISBN: 0-06-268664-X / 978-0-06-268664-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
ISBN: 1-5385-0008-6 / 978-1-5385-0008-8
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: Library Edition
Author(s): Charles Soule
ISBN: 1-5385-0006-X / 978-1-5385-0006-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year
Author(s): Charles Soule
ISBN: 1-5385-0007-8 / 978-1-5385-0007-1
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Oracle Year: A Novel
Author(s): Charles Soule
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU