book cover of Thunder Bay
Added by 1 of our members

Thunder Bay

(2019)
(The first book in the Rebecca Connolly series)
A novel by

 
 
Stoirm's secrets are worth killing for in this gripping thriller for readers of All the Missing Girls and Neon Prey.

When reporter Rebecca Connolly gets a tip that suspected murderer Roddie Drummond will be returning to the island of Stoirm, she smells a story. Though never convicted in the death of his girlfriend Mhairi fifteen years earlier, Drummond is still guilty in the eyes of many islanders, and his return for his mother's funeral is sure to stir up old resentments, hatreds, possibly even violence. Rebecca has another reason for going to Stoirm. Her own father came from there, but he never went back, and he always refused to speak of it or say what drove him away.

Defying her editor, Rebecca joins forces with local photographer Chazz Wymark to dig into the mystery surrounding Mhairi's death and her unexplained last words, "Thunder Bay" - the secluded spot on the west coast of the island where, according to local lore, the souls of the dead set off into the afterlife. When a string of violent events erupts across the island, Rebecca discovers the power of secrets, and she must decide what to bury, and what to bring into the light.

Longlisted for Bloody Scotland's McIlvanney Prize for best crime book of the year, Thunder Bay has been hailed as "Immersive, compelling . . . [with a] jaw-dropping climax" (Neil Broadfoot, author of the MacGregor and Drummond thrillers).).

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Our finest emerging crime fiction talent." - Quintin Jardine


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Perfect Crime
(DI Callanach, book 5)
Helen Fields
thumb
The Stalker
(William Lorimer, book 16)
Alex Gray
thumb
Nothing to Hide
(Constance Fairchild, book 2)
James Oswald
thumb
Borderlands
(DCI Ryan Mysteries, book 14)
LJ Ross

Used availability for Douglas Skelton's Thunder Bay

Hardback Editions

February 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: A Thriller (Rebecca Connolly)
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-950691-34-9 / 978-1-950691-34-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2011 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: an intense, dark crime thriller, on an island where some sins never die (Rebecca Connolly 1)
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-84697-473-9 / 978-1-84697-473-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Polygon (An Imprint of Birlinn Limited)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-4450-8306-X / 978-1-4450-8306-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-4450-8307-8 / 978-1-4450-8307-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: A Thriller
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: An intense, dark crime thriller, on an island where some sins never die
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Polygon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU