book cover of Thunder Bay
Added by 13 of our members

Thunder Bay

(2019)
(The first book in the Rebecca Connolly series)
A novel by

 
 
Stoirm Island’s secrets are worth killing for in this immersive, unrelenting thriller for readers of All the Missing Girls and Neon Prey—"this crime novel has it all" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

When reporter Rebecca Connolly gets a tip that suspected murderer Roddie Drummond will be returning to the island of Stoirm, she smells a story. Though never convicted in the death of his girlfriend Mhairi fifteen years earlier, Drummond is still guilty in the eyes of many islanders, and his return for his mother’s funeral is sure to stir up old resentments, hatreds, possibly even violence. Rebecca has another reason for going to Stoirm. Her own father came from there, but he never went back, and he always refused to speak of it or say what drove him away.
                                                          
Defying her editor, Rebecca joins forces with local photographer Chazz Wymark to dig into the mystery surrounding Mhairi's death and her unexplained last words, “Thunder Bay”—the secluded spot on the west coast of the island where, according to local lore, the souls of the dead set off into the afterlife. When a string of violent events erupts across the island, Rebecca discovers the power of secrets, and she must decide what to bury, and what to bring into the light.
 
Longlisted for Bloody Scotland's McIlvanney Prize for best crime book of the year, Thunder Bay has been hailed as "Immersive, compelling . . . [with a] jaw-dropping climax" (Neil Broadfoot, author of the MacGregor and Drummond thrillers).).
 

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Immersive, compelling, and shot through with Skelton's pitch-black humour, Thunder Bay will reverberate like the last echoes of a storm long after you read the jaw-dropping climax." - Neil Broadfoot

"Our finest emerging crime fiction talent." - Quintin Jardine

"Razor sharp . . . An outstanding piece of crime fiction. Not to be missed." - Denzil Meyrick

"A darkly claustrophobic tale set on a remote Scottish island, where secrets and lies and family feuds all lead to murderous consequences. Douglas Skelton’s writing always delivers, nowhere more than with Thunder Bay." - Craig Russell


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Noble Beginnings
(Jack Noble, book 1)
L T Ryan
thumb
A Taste for Vengeance
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 11)
Martin Walker
thumb
All That's Dead
(Logan McRae, book 12)
Stuart MacBride

Used availability for Douglas Skelton's Thunder Bay

Hardback Editions

February 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: A Rebecca Connolly Thriller (1)
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-950691-34-9 / 978-1-950691-34-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2011 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: an intense, dark crime thriller, on an island where some sins never die (Rebecca Connolly 1)
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-84697-473-9 / 978-1-84697-473-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Polygon (An Imprint of Birlinn Limited)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-4450-8306-X / 978-1-4450-8306-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
ISBN: 1-4450-8307-8 / 978-1-4450-8307-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: A Rebecca Connolly Thriller
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thunder Bay: An intense, dark crime thriller, on an island where some sins never die (The Rebecca Connolly Mysteries)
Author(s): Douglas Skelton
Publisher: Polygon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU