book cover of Standing Still
Added by 2 of our members
 

Standing Still

(2008)
A novel by

 
 
Journalist and suburban mom Claire Cooper suffers from panic disorder. Most of her anxieties seem irrational, nothing that can't be fixed with the help of some Xanax. But late one stormy summer night, when her husband, Sam, is away on one of his frequent business trips, Claire's fears come to life. She discovers an intruder has broken into her young daughter's bedroom. She watches helplessly as he picks up her sleeping child from her bed. Desperate to protect her family, Claire puts herself in the line of fire and utters the plea that will undo her: "Take me instead."

As she drives away in the kidnapper's car, Claire fears for her children, but not for herself. And she can't help noticing the reversal in her marriage -- for the first time in ten years, Sam will not know where she is.

For the next week, Claire is tied to a bed in a strange motel room, the intruder her only com-panion. She is forced to lie still and contemplate the reasons for this assault on her family. Is this just a random crime, or something more sinister? Has the shadowy past that she tried so hard to leave behind finally caught up with her? Day after day, she goes deeper into herself, reevaluating her marriage and her role as a mother, and unburying the source of her crippling anxiety. In seven days she will step out to the very brink of her soul -- perhaps never to return.

A riveting debut novel that will appeal to fans of Sue Miller and Janet Fitch, Standing Still is a powerful exploration of the darker side of mother-hood and marriage.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kelly Simmons's Standing Still

Hardback Editions

June 2008 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Standing Still (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
ISBN: 1-4104-0736-5 / 978-1-4104-0736-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2008 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Standing Still: A Novel
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
ISBN: 0-7432-8972-2 / 978-0-7432-8972-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2009 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Standing Still)] [Author: Kelly Simmons] published on (February, 2009)
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2009 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Standing Still: A Novel
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
ISBN: 0-7432-8973-0 / 978-0-7432-8973-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2009 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Standing Still: A Novel
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2008 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Standing Still: A Novel
Author(s): Kelly Simmons
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA