book cover of What He Never Said
Added by 5 of our members

What He Never Said

(The first book in the Silent Detective series)
A novel by

‘An enigmatic tale of what is seen and what is unseen, and what lies between.’ Allan Martin, author of Death in Tallinn

England. 1918.

Millions of men have been killed in the trenches. Millions more are weary and broken.

Harry Baker, a young student battered by four years of war, is trying to rebuild his life.

He meets JP, an officer newly returned from the Western Front who is not the man he was. JP has retreated into a world of total silence. He shuns company. He refuses to speak.

Then one day Harry’s troubled new acquaintance passes him a scribbled note: “I don’t know who else to tell. Someone is trying to kill me”. An attempt has been made on JP’s life. He fears they will try again. And he suspects it is because he was witness to a murder. The murder of his friend, the actress Sarah Brindle.

Together, JP – a wounded officer unable to talk – and Harry – a young man too afraid to talk about who he really is – attempt to discover what happened to Sarah. It means they must question what they know about the people around them … friends, enemies, soldiers, criminals, and killers.

The investigation threatens to reveal the truth about the people JP and Harry trust. It risks exposing a dangerous and illegal secret about their own identities. And it could destroy a young man who is trapped in a world of silence.

Mark Findlay Smith is a writer, journalist, and columnist for The Herald

'A richly atmospheric and utterly compelling psychological thriller, with a Gothic twist.' Alan Bardos, author of The Dardanelles Conspiracy

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Mark Findlay Smith's What He Never Said

Paperback Editions

August 2021 : Paperback

Title: What He Never Said (The Silent Detective)
Author(s): Mark Findlay Smith
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

August 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: What He Never Said (The Silent Detective Book 1)
Author(s): Mark Findlay Smith
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU