book cover of The Quarry Wood

The Quarry Wood

(The first book in the Grampian Quartet series)
A novel by

When Martha accepts a place at university, her decision is met with a mixture of hostility and pride by her uncomprehending family. This is the story of a young woman's journey to maturity and independence, struggling to cope with the intellectual and emotional challenges that surround her, at a time when such space was rarely given freely to women.

In The Quarry Wood, Nan Shepherd's subtle prose is matched by intense and memorable descriptions of the natural world, and a dry sense of humour. Ninety years after its first publication, it remains as fresh and original today.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Nan Shepherd's The Quarry Wood

Paperback Editions

January 2018 : UK Paperback

Title: The Quarry Wood (Canons)
Author(s): Nan Shepherd
ISBN: 1-78689-162-X / 978-1-78689-162-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canongate Canons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 1987 : UK Paperback

Title: The Quarry Wood (Canongate Classics) (Canons)
Author(s): Nan Shepherd
ISBN: 0-86241-141-6 / 978-0-86241-141-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canongate Classics
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

July 2010 : Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Quarry Wood (Canons Book 76)
Author(s): Nan Shepherd
Publisher: Canongate Canons
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA