book cover of The One-Armed Warrior

The One-Armed Warrior

(2013)
A Novella by

 
 
In the ancient Greek city-state of Plataea, teenage warriors trained in the ways of the battlefield long before they reached the age of eighteen. They also trained in the vicious, no-holds-barred form of unarmed combat called pankration. Similar to today's Ultimate Fighting and MMA (Mixed Martial Arts), this extreme style of man-on-man battle was featured in the original Olympic games.

And sometimes, those pankration techniques were used not just for glory on the battlefield or in the Olympic stadium, but in the fields outside the city gates to settle personal, deep-seated grudges between fighters.

The short story The One-Armed Warrior introduces the young pankrator Nikias, the hero of Noble Smith's forthcoming novel Sons of Zeus, a work of historical fiction that will appeal to fans of Steven Saylor, Steven Pressfield, and Simon Scarrow.

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Daughter of War
(Knights Templar, book 1)
S J A Turney
thumb
The Falling Sword
(Clash of Empires, book 2)
Ben Kane
thumb
The Last Emir
(Knights Templar, book 2)
S J A Turney

Used availability for Noble Smith's The One-Armed Warrior

Kindle Editions

May 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The One-Armed Warrior: A Short Story (Nikias of Plataea)
Author(s): Noble Smith
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA