book cover of As Far As You\'ll Take Me
Added by 5 members
 

As Far As You'll Take Me

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
"A beautiful tribute to every queer kid who's ever had to leave their home in order to find one." - Leah Johnson, bestselling author of You Should See Me in a Crown


The author of The Gravity of Us crafts another heartfelt coming-of-age story about finding the people who become your home--perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli.


Marty arrives in London with nothing but his oboe and some savings from his summer job, but he's excited to start his new life--where he's no longer the closeted, shy kid who slips under the radar and is free to explore his sexuality without his parents' disapproval.

From the outside, Marty's life looks like a perfect fantasy: in the span of a few weeks, he's made new friends, he's getting closer with his first ever boyfriend, and he's even traveling around Europe. But Marty knows he can't keep up the facade. He hasn't spoken to his parents since he arrived, he's tearing through his meager savings, his homesickness and anxiety are getting worse and worse, and he hasn't even come close to landing the job of his dreams. Will Marty be able to find a place that feels like home?

Acclaim for The Gravity of Us
An IndieNext List Pick
An Amazon Best Book

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Praise for this book

"An honest, affecting novel about the lengths we must travel to find ourselves, and an ode to the people who sustain us along the way." - Andrew Eliopulos

"Ardent, poignant and gripping, filled with lush descriptions and a witty narration, As Far As You'll Take Me is a moving tale of found family, letting go of the past, and forging a future determined by no one but yourself." - Sophie Gonzales

"As Far As You'll Take Me is a beautiful tribute to every queer kid who's ever had to leave their home in order to find one." - Leah Johnson

"Phil Stamper has written a heartfelt, triumphant novel about the courage it takes to step out of your comfort zone and the power in finding a family of friends who let you shine. Beautifully evoking the breathlessness of first love and the anguish of first loss, readers will be captivated by every swell in Marty's song." - Maulik Pancholy

"A heartfelt and unvarnished portrait of the growth queer people experience when they finally set themselves free." - Caleb Roehrig

"Brilliant, vital, and best of all: brave. As Far As You'll Take Me swells with big-hearted emotion, bold dynamics, and genuine wit. A truly masterful composition that I will be thinking about long after the final notes fade." - Ryan La Sala


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Phil Stamper's As Far As You'll Take Me


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors