book cover of Fifty-Four Pigs
Added by 9 of our members
 

Fifty-Four Pigs

(2022)
(The first book in the Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place


A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on a collision course with murder and a startling conspiracy.


Peter is an odd duck, obsessed with logic and measurable facts, an obsession he puts to good use in his veterinary practice. When a murder is connected to the swine barn explosion and his friend Tom becomes the prime suspect, Peter feels compelled to put his reasoning skills, and his dog Pippin’s remarkable nose, to use to help clear him.


The situation darkens with a second murder and a series of break-ins, including at Peter’s house and clinic, but Peter has a hard time knowing when he is out of his depth, despite warnings from his brother-in-law Kevin, an RCMP officer.


Ultimately Peter finds himself out in the middle of a frozen lake during a blizzard, fighting for his life and confronting a horrifying realization he had been blind to all along.



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"With Dr. Peter Bannerman, Philipp Schott has created a unique brand of amateur detective, one who is as amiable as he is enigmatic, as inquisitive and old-timey as Sherlock Holmes, yet thoroughly modern, and believes that detective work and veterinary medicine are a perfectly logical pairing. The reader can't help but be entranced and embraced by Schott's charming and saucily unusual first book in what should be a long-running series." - Anthony Bidulka

"Original, well-constructed, with a cast of interesting characters -- I hope this isn't the last we'll read about Dr. Peter Bannerman and Pippin." - Ian Hamilton

"Meet a very welcome addition to Canada's fictional crime-busters; amateur sleuth Peter Bannerman, beloved veterinarian and tea connoisseur, with his clever sniffer-dog associate, Pippin. Philipp Schott's small town Manitoba characters are wonderfully engaging and entertaining, and his writing is almost as Nordic as the town, spare, humorous and gripping by turns. Deadly and delightful, Fifty-Four Pigs is a delicious read with some of the most beautiful descriptions of a prairie winter anywhere." - Iona Whishaw


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Philipp Schott's Fifty-Four Pigs

Paperback Editions

April 2022 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery
Author(s): Philipp Schott
ISBN: 1-77041-614-5 / 978-1-77041-614-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Philipp Schott
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   


April 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Philipp Schott
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Philipp Schott
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery
Author(s): Philipp Schott
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU