New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Carnegie Medal Best Book
For readers of"Between Shades of Gray"and" All the Light We Cannot See," international bestselling author Ruta Sepetysreturns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating yet unknown tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the "Wilhelm Gustloff." Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other testedwith each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning "All the Light We Cannot See," Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 NYTbestseller"Dead Wake," and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book"Code Name Verity," this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the"Wilhelm Gustloff"--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in"Between Shades of Gray," Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for"Salt to the Sea" "Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In "Salt to the Sea" the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimatestorytelling." Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity" A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist "Bomb" "Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." Sabaa Tahir, "New Y

    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Carve the Mark
(Carve the Mark, book 1)
Veronica Roth

Used availability for Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Salt To The Sea (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-606-40492-9 / 978-0-606-40492-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt To The Sea (Thorndike Press Large Print Literacy Bridge Series)
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 1-4104-9287-7 / 978-1-4104-9287-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-399-16030-2 / 978-0-399-16030-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea (SIGNED EDITION) by Ruta Sepetys SIGNED
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-753540-9 / 978-0-14-753540-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-242362-9 / 978-0-14-242362-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-134740-6 / 978-0-14-134740-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-752543-8 / 978-0-14-752543-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA