book cover of Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Carnegie Medal Best Book
Winner, 2017 APA Audie Awards - Young Adult

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international best-selling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating - yet unknown - tragedies.

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country nor culture nor status matters as all 10,000 people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed number-one New York Times best seller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Carve the Mark
(Carve the Mark, book 1)
Veronica Roth
thumb
A Study in Charlotte
(Charlotte Holmes, book 1)
Brittany Cavallaro

Used availability for Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Salt To The Sea (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-606-40492-9 / 978-0-606-40492-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt To The Sea (Thorndike Press Large Print Literacy Bridge Series)
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 1-4104-9287-7 / 978-1-4104-9287-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-399-16030-2 / 978-0-399-16030-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea (SIGNED EDITION) by Ruta Sepetys SIGNED
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-753540-9 / 978-0-14-753540-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-242362-9 / 978-0-14-242362-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-134740-6 / 978-0-14-134740-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
ISBN: 0-14-752543-8 / 978-0-14-752543-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author(s): Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA