book cover of How It Ends
Added by 1 of our members

How It Ends

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, How It Ends is a sweeping and turbulent drama about the anxieties of post-war Britain, where one strong and inspirational young woman looks to find her place, no matter the cost....

1957: within a year of arriving at an American airbase in Suffolk, the loving, law-abiding Delaney family is destroyed. Did they know something they weren't allowed to know? Did they find something they weren't supposed to find? Hedy is the only one left standing, a rebellious girl cast adrift in a world of post-war anxiety - a girl who has the courage to question what really went on behind military closed doors.

Hedy's journey to the truth leads her to read a manuscript that her talented twin brother had started months before he died, a story inspired by an experience in the forest surrounding the airbase perimeter. Only through deciding to finish what her brother started does Hedy begin to piece together what happened to her family.

But would she have continued if she'd known then what she knows now?

Sometimes, it's safer not to finish what you've started....

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A gripping and emotional story which, although set in a past era, has chilling implications for the present day. How It Ends is an engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page as its subject matter is unfortunately still very relevant." - Lisa Ballantyne

"Stunning writing and wonderful nuanced characterisation. I was hooked." - Rosamund Lupton


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Russian Concubine
(Russian Concubine, book 2)
Kate Furnivall

Used availability for Saskia Sarginson's How It Ends

Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: How It Ends: The stunning new novel from Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Twins
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
ISBN: 0-349-41998-1 / 978-0-349-41998-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: How It Ends: The stunning new novel from Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Twins
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
ISBN: 0-349-41997-3 / 978-0-349-41997-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2019 : USA Audio edition

Title: How It Ends
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Canada Audio edition

Title: How It Ends
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2019 : UK Audio edition

Title: How It Ends
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: How It Ends: The stunning new novel from Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Twins
Author(s): Saskia Sarginson
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU