book cover of Hannah\'s War
Added by 33 members
 

Hannah's War

(2021)
(A book in the Memory Lane series)
A novel by

 
 
A moving and dramatic World War II land girl saga by the author of Lily's War and Bobby's War, winner of the RNA romantic saga award. For readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves.

It's 1942 and at nineteen years old Hannah Compton has the world at her feet. But with World War II raging, the country is in turmoil, and Hannah decides to do her bit for the War effort. Hannah's beloved grandfather taught her to grow vegetables in his market garden and inspires her to become one of over 200,000 women joining the Land Army.

Posted to Salhouse Farm on the outskirts of Norwich, Hannah is excited for the adventure ahead of her. But soon reality hits. Hannah is a city girl at heart and life in the countryside is not what she imagined. It's cold, she hates the hard work, she misses her friends back in Manchester, and she has to share a double bed with a stranger.

As Hannah gets used to the punishing farm work and makes some friends, she starts to settle in. But she simply can't get used to living side by side with the German prisoners of war. Then a young German doctor steps in to save Hannah's life and everything she thought she knew is brought into question.

In a country at war, will Hannah be prepared to risk everything for the enemy?

'Another exciting, emotion-filled celebration of the role of women on the home front' Lancashire Evening Post

- - - - - -

Praise for Shirley Mann:


'What a
brilliant read . . . Bobby is a wonderful heroine.' Ginny Bell, author of The Dover Café at War on Bobby's War

'Plucky and resourceful,
Bobby is exactly the sort of person you'd want at your side in real life.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas on Bobby's War

'[The story] read so true to me and
I really didn't want to put it down. . .' Vera Morgan, wartime WAAF on Lily's War

'An impeccably researched and
uplifting story of love, loss and courage.' Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl on Lily's War

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"What a brilliant read! Shirley Mann has given such a well-researched and comprehensive picture of the lives of the courageous women of the ATA, and Bobby is a wonderful heroine. Brave, clever and opinionated, I absolutely loved spending time with her." - Ginny Bell


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Shirley Mann's Hannah's War


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors