book cover of The Seven Queens of England

The Seven Queens of England

(1968)
A novel by

 
 
The inspiring story of the seven queens of England and their place in their country's history.

An informative and compelling insight into the seven historic women who have independently ruled England. From Maud, the first women to ever have claim to the throne, all the way to Elizabeth II, whose life still appears on our television screens today. Each Queen is as rare as the one before her, but with ever increasing pressure to do better than the last.

Let yourself be swept away by the conflicts and hardships that come with being a female ruler in a male-dominated world. Stand with Maud as she fights for her rightful place, be inspired by Elizabeth I by her passion for learning, and grow with Victoria as she learns who she must be. This book tells of the real people behind the crown, and the struggles they endured to get where they deserved to be.

Unlike your typical history book, Geoffrey Trease offers a unique insight into these seven extraordinary women by including childhood anecdotes and personal points of view. Perfect for fans of Marjorie Bowen, Christopher Hibbert, and Karen Dolby.

'Geoffrey Trease has certainly got the knack. He can write for young people, in this case mainly for teenagers, without being obvious. The excitement is there where fact permits. So is the lucidity, with events all round the world fitting smoothly into their proper place and time' - The Daily Telegraph

'I found it a fascinating book. I wish that all history books were so inviting and intelligent.' - Naomi Lewes, BBC

'History at its most agreeable and readable.' - Time and Tide


Geoffrey Trease (1909-1998) was the author of more than one hundred books, including children's books. He revolutionised children's literature and was one of the first authors to deliberately appeal to both boys and girls through strong leading characters of both genders. In 1966 Trease won the New York Herald Tribune Book Award for This is Your Century. Geoffrey Trease was educated at Oxford University and travelled widely in Europe and beyond. He lived in Herefordshire on the slopes of the Malvern Hills.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Used availability for Geoffrey Trease's The Seven Queens of England

Hardback Editions

June 1968 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Seven Queens England
Author(s): Geoffrey Trease
ISBN: 0-8149-0430-0 / 978-0-8149-0430-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


February 1968 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Seven Queens of England
Author(s): Geoffrey Trease
ISBN: 0-434-96757-2 / 978-0-434-96757-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Methuen young books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA