book cover of Solitaire
Added by 10 of our members

Solitaire

(2016)
(The fifth book in the Clara Vine series)
A novel by

 
 
TO SAVE HER OWN LIFE, WILL SHE SACRIFICE ANOTHER?

June 1940: the first summer of the war. Berlin is being bombed and nightly blackouts suffocate the city. Then France falls and a shadow descends.

A shadow has fallen over Clara Vine’s own life, too. She is an Anglo-German woman in a country that hates England. Then she is summoned to meet the Propaganda minister, Joseph Goebbels, who has decided that Clara should adopt a new role – as his spy.   

Much as she dislikes the idea, Clara realises this might be the chance to find an escape route to England. But Goebbels has other ideas and soon Clara is drawn into a web that threatens to destroy her. As everything she holds dear is taken as ransom, she must fight to protect her family – and to survive…

Solitaire delivers brilliantly engrossing wartime fiction for fans of  Sadie Jones, Rosie Thomas and Irene Nemirovsky.
 
Praise for Jane Thynne’s Clara Vine novels:
‘An absolute cracker of a read…fast-paced and gripping from the start’ Sunday Times
‘A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful’ Mail on Sunday
‘Terrific’ Elizabeth Buchan

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Shadow and Light
(Berlin trilogy, book 2)
Jonathan Rabb

Used availability for Jane Thynne's Solitaire

Hardback Editions

November 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Clara Vine 5)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4711-5579-X / 978-1-4711-5579-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Clara Vine 5)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-4711-5581-1 / 978-1-4711-5581-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Solitaire (Clara Vine Series)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
ISBN: 1-5100-7003-6 / 978-1-5100-7003-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2016 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Clara Vine 5)
Author(s): Jane Thynne
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK