book cover of Mageborn
Added by 10 of our members

Mageborn

(2020)
(The first book in the Hollow King series)
A novel by

 
 
'50 bajillion stars... I loved this book so much... It broke my heart into a million pieces and put it all back together again.' Faemance Book Blog, 5 stars

In the name of the crown I arrest you and charge you with the crime of being an unregistered and unsworn mageborn. You will yield up your magic for the greater good, or face certain death...

Raised on the streets, orphan Grace Marchant has always questioned the harsh laws of the Kingdom of Rathlynn. Confronting Prince Bastien Larelwynn - keeper of a dark, golden and deadly magic - was never her plan, but when her closest friend is the next mageborn taken away to the shadowy dungeons, she has no choice but to act.

Deep in the castle, Grace discovers that the Queen of Rathlynn has a devastating plan to use the mageborn's stolen powers to cement her rule forever. Begging the coldly handsome Prince Bastien to spare her friend's life, Grace is surprised to see a flicker of compassion in his obsidian black eyes, and the fire in her blood calls out to him... but if he senses the luminous mageborn power secretly unfurling within her like liquid sunlight, it's only a matter of time before she too will be imprisoned.

But Grace is shocked when Bastien, with a mysterious smile, keeps any knowledge of her powers to himself. Despite his duties to the realm, Bastien pities the mageborn, and the two hatch a plan that could change everything.

As raging fire melts blackest ice, passion and desire quickly quiet her fear and suspicion. But with her golden mageborn light growing stronger every day, Grace must ask herself if she can really trust her former enemy... and with betrayal at every turn, will they save the mageborn and get out alive?

A dark and addictive fantasy read, perfect for fans of Graceling and Sarah J. Maas.

Read what everyone's saying about Mageborn:


'Wow, wow, wow!... A showstopping book that was hard to put down... An addicting adventure you will not want to miss out on.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I mean, wow!... Be prepared for plot twists!!!... I highly recommend giving this book a read! I can't wait for the next book in the series!!!!' Goodreads Reviewer

'Captivating... I simultaneously wanted to power through it but didn't want it to end... it's fantastic. It's brilliant. I love it... I have several notes in my Kindle app from emotional scenes where it's purely emotive responses of ""AWEEE"", ""OMGGGG"", ""WTF IS THIS?!"... a beautiful piece of fantasy fiction that should be on everyone's tbr list.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I was hooked... there is heartbreak from the very beginning... I was going through a rollercoaster of emotions - my heart felt like it had been ripped out, trampled on, and then trampled on some more for good measure... This book is certainly a page-turner, I read it over two afternoons.' Goodreads Reviewer

'I loved it... A brilliant start to this series which already has me asking and wondering...WHAT HAPPENS NOW? WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?... left me speechless... Brilliantly written and gripping. Highly recommend.' Gemma's Book Reviews

'WOWIE! This book took me on a wild ride... Superb... I was truly engrossed from start to finish... Not to be missed.' Belle in Pages

'Really does pack a punch... I loved every minute of it... filled with action, adventure, and romance and it will have you at the edge of your seat so many times... This book has everything a fantasy reader will love... If I could give more than five stars I would. I absolutely loved it.' Goodreads Reviewer

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jessica Thorne's Mageborn

Paperback Editions

February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Mageborn: An absolutely gripping fantasy novel: 1 (The Hollow King)
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
ISBN: 1-83888-098-4 / 978-1-83888-098-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mageborn: The Hollow King, Book 1
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mageborn: The Hollow King, Book 1
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mageborn: The Hollow King, Book 1
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mageborn: The Hollow King, Book 1
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Mageborn: An absolutely gripping fantasy novel (The Hollow King Book 1)
Author(s): Jessica Thorne
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU