book cover of The Paper Girl of Paris
Added by 4 of our members

The Paper Girl of Paris

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Code Name Verity meets Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution in this gripping debut novel.

NOW:

Sixteen-year-old Alice is spending the summer in Paris, but she isn’t there for pastries and walks along the Seine. When her grandmother passed away two months ago, she left Alice an apartment in France that no one knew existed. An apartment that has been locked for more than seventy years.

Alice is determined to find out why the apartment was abandoned and why her grandmother never once mentioned the family she left behind when she moved to America after World War II. With the help of Paul, a charming Parisian student, she sets out to uncover the truth. However, the more time she spends digging through the mysteries of the past, the more she realizes there are secrets in the present that her family is still refusing to talk about.

THEN:

Sixteen-year-old Adalyn doesn’t recognize Paris anymore. Everywhere she looks, there are Nazis, and every day brings a new horror of life under the Occupation. When she meets Luc, the dashing and enigmatic leader of a resistance group, Adalyn feels she finally has a chance to fight back.

But keeping up the appearance of being a much-admired socialite while working to undermine the Nazis is more complicated than she could have imagined. As the war goes on, Adalyn finds herself having to make more and more compromises—to her safety, to her reputation, and to her relationships with the people she loves the most.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Jordyn Taylor has written a book with all the gems you hope for in a story to treasure: mystery, romance, fi erce heroines doing brave things in the face of everything from familial trauma to historical tragedy. The way these parallel stories converge is brilliant and satisfying. I had to read this book all at once." - Florence Gonsalves

"A must-read for fans of Code Name Verity, Taylor’s debut aptly blends mystery, romance, history, and complicated family dynamics into a compulsively readable story." - Liz Lawson

"A beautiful story of two girls' courage and commitment seven decades apart. THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS takes us into the very heart of Paris, in both the darkest hours of the German occupation and of one modern family's deep grief, and invites us to fall in love. A finely crafted historical fiction debut." - Caroline Leech


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jordyn Taylor's The Paper Girl of Paris

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
ISBN: 0-06-293662-X / 978-0-06-293662-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : USA Paperback

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
ISBN: 0-06-293664-6 / 978-0-06-293664-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
ISBN: 1-09-415989-1 / 978-1-09-415989-8
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
ISBN: 1-09-415990-5 / 978-1-09-415990-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris: Library Edition
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
ISBN: 1-09-415988-3 / 978-1-09-415988-1
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Paper Girl of Paris
Author(s): Jordyn Taylor
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU