book cover of The Road To War

The Road To War

(2019)
(The fourth book in the Caesars Spies series)
A novel by

 
 
"Superb ... For fans of Steven Saylor and Conn Iggulden." Richard Foreman

ROME. 42 BC.

Rome and its empire are in turmoil.

Severed heads fill the Forum. Cicero's remains among them, more than two months after his death.

Power lies with Antony and Caesar's adopted son and heir Octavianus.

Their reign of terror continues but too many of their proscribed enemies are escaping their clutches.

And Brutus and Cassius still oppose them. Their fleets are blockading the Triumvirate's ports as they build their armies in the East.

Antony turns to his most trusted secret agent, Artemidorus. He is tasked with delivering a message to the only person with a navy powerful enough to help - Cleopatra.

But the road to Alexandria is a dangerous one. Artemidorus and his companions must journey through treacherous countryside and past cities ravaged by Brutus' rapacious legions and tax collectors.

Before the Queen can help Antony, Cleopatra must rely on Artemidorus to find a way to stop Cassius from invading Egypt - and to bring grain to her starving people before they rise in revolt against her.

Artemidorus' mission becomes ever more dangerous and desperate as friends turn into enemies and lovers into traitors.
Recommended for fans of Steven Saylor, Robert Harris and Ben Kane.

Peter Tonkin was born in Ulster, Northern Ireland and was raised in the UK, Holland, Germany, and the Persian Gulf. The son of an RAF officer, Tonkin spent much of his youth travelling the world from one posting to another.

"A breathless, brutal tale which weaves together historical fact and creativity." Mystery People Magazine

"Anyone interested in the history of the Roman Empire and those turbulent times will thoroughly enjoy this intriguing story. Highly recommended." Mystery People

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Superb...For fans of Steven Saylor and Conn Iggulden." - Richard Foreman


Used availability for Peter Tonkin's The Road To War

Paperback Editions

February 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Road To War
Author(s): Peter Tonkin
ISBN: 1-79627-829-7 / 978-1-79627-829-3
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Road To War (Caesar's Spies Book 4)
Author(s): Peter Tonkin
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU