book cover of The Secret Next Door
Added by 24 of our members

The Secret Next Door

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
"A taut, chilling glimpse inside the homes of an affluent community built on lies, secrets, and tragedy."—Carter Wilson, USA Today bestselling author

How well do you really know your neighbors?

Alyson Tinsdale is giving her son the childhood she never had: a stable family, a loving home, and a great school in a safe neighborhood.

Bonnie Sloan is the neighborhood matriarch. With her oldest son headed to Yale, and her youngest starting kindergarten, Bonnie is now pursuing her own long-held political aspirations despite private family struggles.

When the open space behind some of the most expensive homes gets slated for development into an amusement facility, the neighborhood becomes deeply divided. The personal pressures and community conflicts ratchet with every passing day, but it's when a thirteen-year-old is found dead beside the neighborhood lake that simmering tensions boil over into panic.

Gossip flows, lies are exposed, and accusations are made as cracks run through the community's once solid foundations. The neighborhood's faith in exterior appearances is eclipsed by the secrets every house keeps. And as Bonnie and Alyson fight to keep their children safe and their messy personal lives from becoming neighborhood knowledge, it becomes clear that their neighbors might not be who they appear to be.

Fans of Lisa Jewell and Wendy Walker will love this fast-paced, engrossing novel that reminds us that nothing and no one are ever as perfect as they seem.



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Secret Next Door is a twisty tale of surprise and psychological suspense that is populated with relatable characters. Taylor has a zing to her writing style as the words fly across the pages...and every last one will have you wondering how well you really know your neighbors." - Joanna Schaffhausen

"A taut, chilling glimpse inside the homes of an affluent community built on lies, secrets, and tragedy...The Secret Next Door is a thoughtful and cunning mystery that will hit close to home for legions of bedroom-community dwellers." - Carter Wilson


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rebecca Taylor's The Secret Next Door

Paperback Editions

November 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secret Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Rebecca Taylor
ISBN: 1-72820-668-5 / 978-1-72820-668-4
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Next Door
Author(s): Rebecca Taylor
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc.
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Next Door
Author(s): Rebecca Taylor
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Rebecca Taylor
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU