book cover of We Are the Fire
Added by 11 of our members
 

We Are the Fire

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana—both taken from their homeland at a young age—only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

Praise for We Are the Fire:

"At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous—and what it costs to be human." —Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

"Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart." —Culturess

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Bold and immersive, We Are the Fire is a strong new addition to the YA fantasy canon, full of characters with heart fighting despite their circumstances." - Emily A Duncan

"At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous-and what it costs to be human." - Joanna Ruth Meyer

"A well-paced fantasy steeped in folklore and alchemy. Deeply developed characters and a sharply written plot give We Are the Fire a dramatic intensity that readers will fall in love with. Perfect for fans of Cursed by Thomas Wheeler." - B R Myers

"Brutally monstrous and achingly human, We Are the Fire is a tale that is sprawling and intimate, beautiful and grotesque. Told at breakneck speed, the narrative is as unforgiving as its world, where love is dangerous, hope is fleeting, and the same fire that built the empire can tear it back down." - Nicki Pau Preto

"Beautiful, haunting, and fierce, We Are the Fire is a riveting debut that will burn its way into your soul." - Kim Smejkal


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Sam Taylor 3's We Are the Fire


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors