book cover of Ponti

Ponti

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
An award-winning fiction debut about the value of friendships in present-day Singapore - a surprising and powerful portrait of Asia that shows the unique blend of modern and traditional cultures coming together - for fans of Elena Ferrante and Emma Cline.

"I am Miss Frankenstein, I am the bottom of the bell curve." So declares Szu, a teenager living in a dark, dank house on a Singapore cul-de-sac, at the beginning of this richly atmospheric and endlessly surprising tale of non-belonging and isolation.

Friendless and fatherless, Szu lives in the shadow of her mother Amisa, once a beautiful actress - who gained fame for her portrayal of a ghost - and now a hack medium performing seances with her sister in a rusty house. When Szu meets the privileged, acid-tongued Circe, an unlikely encounter develops into a fraught friendship that will haunt them both for decades to come.

With remarkable emotional acuity, dark comedy, and in vivid prose, Sharlene Teo's Ponti traces the suffocating tangle the lives of four misfits, women who need each other as much as they need to find their own way. It is an astounding portrayal of the gaping loneliness of adolescence, the surrealness of the modern city, and the strangeness of living with and loving other people.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Ponti is darkly hilarious. It offers up all the anxiety, snark, sadness, and wonder of being a teenager. Teo guides us through the grunge of growing up. She asks what it means to be a monster and what it means to be beautiful. Is it possible to be both?" - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

"This haunting debut hopscotches between decades and cultures, eschewing the usual moves of the coming-of-age story for something truer to the desperate, surreal stakes of adolescence. Sharlene Teo is a daring and genuinely original novelist." - Garth Greenwell

"A radiant, achingly beautiful novel about relationships between women." - Megan Hunter

"Remarkable . . . With brilliant descriptive power and human warmth, Sharlene Teo summons the darker currents of modernity – environmental degradation, the suffocating allure of the sparkling modern city and its cataracts of commodities and corrupted language. Against this, her characters glow with life and humour and minutely observed desperation." - Ian McEwan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sharlene Teo's Ponti

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5011-7311-1 / 978-1-5011-7311-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5098-5531-9 / 978-1-5098-5531-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5011-7312-X / 978-1-5011-7312-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5098-5533-5 / 978-1-5098-5533-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5098-5532-7 / 978-1-5098-5532-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5082-6361-2 / 978-1-5082-6361-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
ISBN: 1-5082-6127-X / 978-1-5082-6127-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Ponti
Author(s): Sharlene Teo
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK