book cover of The Queen\'s Consort
Added by 3 of our members
 

The Queen's Consort

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
1563

Lord Darnley is a prince of the blood.

He is handsome, ambitious - and an unwitting pawn in a game of thrones, played out by the rival queens of England and Scotland.

As he escapes northwards, Darnley falls in love with the enigmatic Mary, Queen of Scots.

But is the beautiful and regal woman all that she seems?

As Darnley is drawn into Mary's web - and bed - he discovers that being a king does not mean wearing the crown.

As one of the most passionate marriages in British history falters, Darnley must pit his wits against his wife.

There will be blood.

The end of their affair will shape their hearts - and history.

Recommended reading for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir and Sarah Gristwood.

Praise for Steven Veerapen:

"A superb, page-turning debut. The author balances gimlet-eyed research with narrative drive and clever reveals... Danforth is a strong yet torn central character... I look forward to reading the second book in the series." Richard Foreman.

Steven Veerapen was born in Glasgow and raised in Paisley. Pursuing an interest in the sixteenth century, he was awarded a first-class Honours degree in English, focussing his dissertation on representations of Henry VIII's six wives. He then received a Masters in Renaissance studies, and a Ph.D. investigating Elizabethan slander. Steven is fascinated by the glamour and ghastliness of life in the 1500s, and has a penchant for myths, mysteries and murders in an age in which the law was as slippery as those who defied it.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Steven Veerapen's The Queen's Consort

Paperback Editions

October 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Consort: The Story of Mary Queen of Scots and Lord Darnley
Author(s): Steven Veerapen
ISBN: 1-72872-082-6 / 978-1-72872-082-1
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Consort: The Story of Mary Queen of Scots and Lord Darnley
Author(s): Steven Veerapen
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU