book cover of Frost in May
Added by 2 members

Frost in May

(The first book in the Frost in May Quartet series)
A novel by

Nanda Gray, daughter of a Catholic convert, is nine when in 1908 she goes to the Convent of the Five Wounds. Quick-witted, resilient, and enthusiastic, she eagerly adapts to this cloistered world, learning rigid conformity and subjection to authority. Passionate friendships are the only deviation from her total obedience. Convent life — the smell of beeswax and incense, the petty cruelty of the nuns, the glamour and eccentricity of Nanda's friends — is perfectly captured by Antonia White.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Antonia White's Frost in May

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors