book cover of Love Trusts

Love Trusts

(The fifth book in the Cross in the Woods Romance series)
A Novella by


She cackled when he sat up straight and puffed out his chest as if winning some big contest.

The Cross in the Woods, a cattle ranch entrusted to Rebecca as the fourth-generation steward, becomes a crucible of transformation and romance. Determined to preserve the family legacy and seeking additional revenue streams to sustain the land, Rebecca faces the harsh reality of her self-reliant, loner nature. Seeking help is a challenging endeavor for her, but her prayers are answered one by one as individuals arrive at the ranch, igniting not only the flames of newfound business ventures but also the sparks of unexpected romance. Through their collective efforts, the ranch not only survives but flourishes in ways they never anticipated. 'The Cross in the Woods' intimately recounts their journey—a narrative of revitalization for the ranch, as they bring in new businesses, heal from their personal traumas, and kindle the fires of love.

Leah, with her exceptional work ethic and horse training skills, remains an enigmatic figure, unwilling to share her past, keeping her distance from social interactions, and clearly grappling with personal issues at the ranch. Robert, a visiting psychologist on an elk hunting trip, feels an immediate connection and an earnest desire to assist her, even as she resists his efforts. Drawing upon his professional training, he persists in offering a sympathetic ear until Leah gradually lowers her defenses. Yet, as one misunderstanding unfolds, the unexpected reliance they've developed on each other becomes undeniable, forcing them to confront a pivotal decision about their shared future.

Robert finds respite from his demanding role as a psychologist, focused on challenging cases involving children, during elk hunting season at The Cross in the Woods. As part of a group committed to processing and donating meat to local food banks, he's drawn to the ranch's vibrant community, dedicated staff, and the array of services it offers. When he encounters Leah, her silence speaks volumes about her past traumas, and an overpowering urge to assist her takes hold. Over time, their connection deepens, and together, they embark on a journey of healing, gradually peeling away layers of trauma to uncover something truly remarkable for both of them.

The Cross in the Woods series is based on Corinthians 13:4-7 (NIV). "Love Trusts" is the fifth book in this seven-book series. Download this clean romance book to make you feel good about yourself and your world.

Genre: Inspirational

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Everlee Whitman's Love Trusts

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors