book cover of Kingdom of Ash and Briars
Added by 4 of our members

Kingdom of Ash and Briars

(2016)
(The first book in the Nissera series)
A novel by

 
 
Welcome to Nissera, land of three kingdoms and home to spectacular magic.

Bristal, a sixteen-year-old kitchen maid, finds herself in a gritty fairy tale gone wrong when she discovers she has magic in her blood. She's descended from an ancient line of immortal sorcerers called elicromancers—a race that has all but died out in her world,  but only two remain in Nissera after a bloody civil war. Bristal joins their ranks without knowing that one of them has a dark secret . . .

Tamarice is plotting a quest to overthrow the realm's nobility and take charge herself. Together, Bristal and Brack must guard the three kingdoms of Nissera against Tamarice's black elicromancy. There are princesses to protect, royal alliances to forge, and fierce monsters to battle—all with the hope of preserving peace.

With clever homages to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and the Chinese legend of Hua Mulan, Hannah West makes a fast-paced, exciting, and wholly original debut. The Nissera Chronicles begin here and continue with Fields of Fire, a short story set against the events of Kingdom of Ash and Briars, and Realm of Ruins, a gripping companion novel.

The paperback edition includes the short story Fields of Fire, an illustrated map of Nissera, and a dazzling metallic foil cover.

"One of the best books I've ever read."—C.J. Redwine, New York Times best-selling author of The Shadow Queen

"A world both terrifying and wonderful."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Like Cashore and McKinley, Nix and Novak, Hannah West has crafted a tale both fresh and familiar--a fantasy epic lush in detail and breathlessly enchanting, with an indomitable heroine at its heart." - Claire Legrand

"Brilliant, fascinating, and utterly impossible to put down. Hannah West makes a triumphant entry into the world of fairy tale retellings with one of the best books I've ever read." - C J Redwine

"Classically crafted high fantasy - a call to love, a call to power, a crown at stake, a family at war - where magic runs through every word. Fans of The Shannara Chronicles or The Grisha Trilogy, look no further." - Margaret Stohl


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Trickery
(Curse of the Gods, book 1)
Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington

Used availability for Hannah West's Kingdom of Ash and Briars

Hardback Editions

August 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: A Nissera Novel (The Nissera Chronicles)
Author(s): Hannah West
ISBN: 0-8234-3651-9 / 978-0-8234-3651-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Holiday House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: A Nissera Novel (The Nissera Chronicles)
Author(s): Hannah West
ISBN: 0-8234-4005-2 / 978-0-8234-4005-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Holiday House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: Nissera Chronicles Series, Book 1
Author(s): Hannah West
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: Nissera Chronicles Series, Book 1
Author(s): Hannah West
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: Nissera Chronicles Series, Book 1
Author(s): Hannah West
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: Nissera Chronicles Series, Book 1
Author(s): Hannah West
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Ash and Briars: A Nissera Novel (The Nissera Chronicles Book 1)
Author(s): Hannah West
Publisher: Holiday House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU