Claire Legrand's picture
34 followers

Claire Legrand


USA flag

Claire Legrand used to be a musician until she realized she couldn't stop thinking about the stories in her head. Now a writer, Ms. Legrand can often be found typing with purpose at her keyboard, losing herself in the stacks at her local library, or embarking upon spontaneous adventures to lands unknown. Claire lives in New Jersey with a dragon and two cat.

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy, Children's Fiction
 
Series
thumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumb
 
Claire Legrand recommends
thumb
Kingdom of Ash and Briars (2016)
(Nissera, book 1)
Hannah West
"Like Cashore and McKinley, Nix and Novak, Hannah West has crafted a tale both fresh and familiar--a fantasy epic lush in detail and breathlessly enchanting, with an indomitable heroine at its heart."
thumb
Orphan Island (2017)
Laurel Snyder
"An elegant and thoughtful meditation on the joys and sorrows of growing up, with lyrical prose, characters that feel as alive as your dearest friends, and a vivid setting sure to enchant young readers. A work of extraordinary heart."
thumb
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (2017)
(Montague Siblings, book 1)
Mackenzi Lee
"Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman’s Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers--all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer."
thumb
The Problim Children (2018)
(Problim Children, book 1)
Natalie Lloyd
"Natalie Lloyd has done it again! A story about family, hidden treasure, a wonderfully mysterious house, and finding your place even when you’re frightened to try, The Problim Children is bursting at the seams with magic, heart, and humor. A sheer, riotous delight."
thumb
Ice Wolves (2018)
(Elementals , book 1)
Amie Kaufman
"With propulsive prose and impeccable pacing, Amie Kaufman has created a wholly absorbing fantasy world that feels both ancient and dangerous. Readers will devour this tale of fire and ice, magic and mystery, family and friendship—and immediately beg for the next book. Engrossing and vibrant."
thumb
Nightbooks (2018)
J A White
"Fast-paced, deliciously creepy, and a loving tribute to the power of storytelling, NIGHTBOOKS is sure to delight fans of fairy tales, nail-biting adventures, and things that go bump in the night."
thumb
These Rebel Waves (2018)
(Stream Raiders, book 1)
Sara Raasch
"Ambitious, smart, and breathlessly fun. A richly drawn world, multiple plot twists, and characters you’ll find yourself cheering for again and again make These Rebel Waves the kind of book where ‘just one more chapter’ just isn’t enough."
thumb
Damsel (2018)
Elana K Arnold
"Exquisitely written and unflinchingly, furiously feminist, Damsel is a gorgeous inferno of a fairy tale and my new obsession. Searing and audacious, with an ending that will leave you howling at the moon. A must for every collection."
thumb
The Devouring Gray (2019)
(Devouring Gray, book 1)
Christine Lynn Herman
"Fans of The Raven Boys and Strangers Things rejoice: this is your new obsession."
thumb
The Merciful Crow (2019)
(Merciful Crow, book 1)
Margaret Owen
"One of the most exciting, exceptionally crafted fantasy debuts I've ever read. I did not want to leave this world! Absolutely breathtaking."
thumb
Wilder Girls (2019)
Rory Power
"Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wrenching horror novel of my dreams – one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph."
thumb
The King of Crows (2020)
(Diviners, book 4)
Libba Bray
"Unlike anything I've ever read, this mind-blowing series is one of my all-time favorites."
thumb
Incendiary (2020)
(Hollow Crown, book 1)
Zoraida Córdova
"Gorgeous world building, searing suspense, and a huge cast of fascinating, complex characters . . . I loved every minute of it."
thumb
Ghost Wood Song (2020)
Erica Waters
"What a gorgeous, creepy gem of a book, brimming with magic, mystery, music, and so much love that you’ll ache as if these characters were your actual friends. Ghost Wood Song weaves a captivating spell you won’t want to break."
thumb
Star Daughter (2020)
Shveta Thakrar
"An enchanting story about love, family, finding your voice, and searching for home. Thakrar’s sparkling command of language weaves magic on every page. This book is a joy, and will speak to anyone who yearns to belong."
thumb
Where Dreams Descend (2020)
(Kingdom of Cards, book 1)
Janella Angeles
"Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors