book cover of If You Liked School, You\'ll Love Work

If You Liked School, You'll Love Work

(2007)
A collection of stories by

 
 
In his first short-story collection since "The Acid House", Irvine Welsh sets us five tricky questions. In 'Rattlesnakes' how do three young Americans find themselves lost in the desert, and why does one find himself performing fellatio on another while being watched by the bare-breasted Madeline and two armed Mexicans? Who is the mysterious Korean chef who has moved upstairs to Chicago socialite Kendra Cross, in 'The D.O.G.S. of Lincoln Park', and what does he have to do with the disappearance of her faithful pooch Toto? In the title story, can Mickey Baker - an expat English bar-owner ducking and diving on the Costa Brava - manage to keep all his balls in the air: maintaining his barmaid Cynthia's body weight at the sexual maximum while attending to the youthful Persephone and dodging his persistent ex-wife and a pair of Spanish gangsters? By what train of events does Raymond Wilson Butler, writing a biography of a legendary US film director in "Miss Arizona" come to end up as a piece of movie memorabilia? And how, in the novella "The Kingdom of Fife" will Jason King - diminutive ex-trainee jockey and Subbuteo star of Cowdenbeath - fare in the world of middle-class female equestrians, and will he ever enjoy the tender and long-anticipated charms of Jenni Cahill and her remarkable jodhpurs? All of these questions are posed, and answered, in these five extraordinary stories: stories that remind us that Irvine Welsh is a master of the shorter form, a brilliant storyteller, and - unarguably - one of the funniest and filthiest writers in Britain.

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Irvine Welsh's If You Liked School, You'll Love Work

Hardback Editions

July 2007 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 0-224-08126-8 / 978-0-224-08126-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2007 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 1-84579-746-9 / 978-1-84579-746-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 0-09-948359-9 / 978-0-09-948359-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 0-09-952087-7 / 978-0-09-952087-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2007 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 0-393-33077-X / 978-0-393-33077-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
ISBN: 0-224-07588-8 / 978-0-224-07588-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2011 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work... (Storycuts)
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2008 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2007 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
Author(s): Irvine Welsh
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon