book cover of The Unquiet Heart
Added by 3 of our members

The Unquiet Heart

(2019)
(The second book in the Sarah Gilchrist series)
A novel by

 
 
Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS

This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express

Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiance Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel facade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Body in the Castle Well
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 12)
Martin Walker

Used availability for Kaite Welsh's The Unquiet Heart

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-4722-3984-9 / 978-1-4722-3984-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart: A Sarah Gilchrist Mystery (Sarah Gilchrist Mysteries)
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-68177-749-5 / 978-1-68177-749-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-78771-626-0 / 978-1-78771-626-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-78771-659-7 / 978-1-78771-659-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart: A Sarah Gilchrist Mystery: The Sarah Gilchrist Series, book 2
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-982569-96-4 / 978-1-982569-96-9
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart: Library Edition
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-982569-77-8 / 978-1-982569-77-8
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
ISBN: 1-982569-97-2 / 978-1-982569-97-6
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart: The Sarah Gilchrist Series, Book 2
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

May 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Unquiet Heart: A Sarah Gilchrist Mystery (Sarah Gilchrist Mysteries)
Author(s): Kaite Welsh
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA