book cover of The English Girl
Added by 8 of our members

The English Girl

(2016)
A novel by

 
 


From Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author, Katherine Webb, The English Girl is perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.



In a land full of secrets, you can make your own rules.



Joan Seabrook has fulfilled her lifelong dream to travel to Arabia and has arrived in the ancient city of Muscat with her fiancé, Rory. Desperate to escape the pain of a personal tragedy, she longs to explore the desert fort of Jabrin and unearth the wonders held within.

But Oman is a land lost in time, and gaining permission to explore could prove impossible. Joan's disappointment is only eased by the thrill of meeting her childhood heroine, pioneering explorer Maude Vickery, and hearing the stories that captured her imagination as a child.

The friendship that forms between the two women will change everything.

Both have desires to fulfil and secrets to keep. As their bond grows, Joan is inspired by the thrill of her new friend's past and finds herself swept up in a bold and dangerous adventure of Maude's making. Only too late does she begin to question her actions - actions that will spark a wild, and potentially devastating, chain of events.

'A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion.' Santa Montefiore

'I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself missing the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert.' Kate Riordan

Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's sweeping novels:



'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore

'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams

'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle

'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative and her characters breathtakingly real." - Iona Grey

"A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion." - Santa Montefiore

"I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself missing the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert." - Kate Riordan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Katherine Webb's The English Girl

Hardback Editions

March 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal
Author(s): Katherine Webb
ISBN: 1-4091-4852-1 / 978-1-4091-4852-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal
Author(s): Katherine Webb
ISBN: 1-4091-4854-8 / 978-1-4091-4854-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
ISBN: 1-4091-4853-X / 978-1-4091-4853-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
ISBN: 1-78433-737-4 / 978-1-78433-737-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing (CD)
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
ISBN: 1-78433-773-0 / 978-1-78433-773-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing (MP3 CD)
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal
Author(s): Katherine Webb
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon CA