book cover of Jim Cartwright: Raknar Quest

Jim Cartwright: Raknar Quest

(Book 14 in the Four Horsemen Tales series)
A collection of stories by

Having successfully saved Cartwright's Cavaliers from bankruptcy, Jim Cartwright has a new quest - he wants to know more about Raknar. Unfortunately for him, the secrets of the giant machines appear to have been lost to antiquity. Still... he has to try.

After returning from a lucrative contact, he secures a base of operation for his Cavaliers in the Karma system, then he sets off toward the galactic core. It's something he feels he needs to do by himself, so he leaves his over-protective mentor Hargrave behind.

Can Jim and Splunk find the answers to their questions on their own? They need to know how to maintain the massive Raknar, and where they can find more - and they need the info now! The towering 20,000-year-old war machines could give humanity an edge against the contentious Mercenary Guild... but only if he can get the information he needs.

Jim's heading for more trouble than he bargained for, though, and there are many people who want to stop him and see his quest fail. Few answers await, and there are many new adversaries in his path. At the end of his journey, war looms, as well as a long-lost mystery from his past. Come along on Jim Cartwright's Raknar Quest.

Author's Note: This book represents a collection of short stories but is not an anthology. Five of the shorts were written as the parts of an overall story - chapters if you will - of this book. These stories are from the Jim Cartwright - At Large serial: "Karma Upsilon 4," "Valley of Loss," "Empire of Machines," "Eye of Minerva," and "Hunted."

However, this book isn't merely a reprint of these stories. They have all been modified to fit into one longer novel. Some of these modifications are cosmetic; a few are not. I wove in a few details which were left out of the originals to save length and make each serial a short, self-contained story. These additions provide more meat to the story. Overall, I've added more than 8,000 new words to this book to provide a more fulfilling story.

Finally, this book also has the short stories "Emancipation" (first seen in For a Few Credits More, in 2017) and "Inked" (first seen in The Good, The Bad, And The Merc, 2017). The inclusion of these stories carries Jim Cartwright's quest right up to the beginning of Omega War in A Fiery Sunset and provides the backstory for what Jim did in the time after Cartwright's Cavaliers and before Omega War. You also are gifted with more than a few glimpses into Splunk as a character, her personal motivations and abilities, and some of the deeper mysteries behind the ever-growing Four Horsemen Universe.I hope you enjoy it.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Pyramid Schemes
(Sir Apropos of Nothing, book 4)
Peter David
Mind Power
(Perceivers, book 4)
Jane Killick
(Far Stars Legends, book 1)
Jay Allan

Used availability for Mark Wandrey's Jim Cartwright: Raknar Quest

Paperback Editions

November 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: Jim Cartwright: Raknar Quest (Four Horsemen Tales)
Author(s): Mark Wandrey
ISBN: 1-950420-67-1 / 978-1-950420-67-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Seventh Seal Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Jim Cartwright: Raknar Quest (Four Horsemen Tales Book 14)
Author(s): Mark Wandrey
Publisher: Seventh Seal Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU