book cover of The Darkness Around Her
Added by 9 of our members

The Darkness Around Her

(2018)
(The second book in the Dan Grant and Jayne Brett series)
A novel by

 
 
He says he’s the killer. You know he’s lying. You just don’t know why.

One freezing December night, the body of young, vulnerable, Lizzie Barnsley is found on the side of an isolated canal. When blood from her stiletto heel matches that on a wound on the head of Peter Box, police swiftly declare him the prime suspect in her murder.

Criminal lawyer, Dan Grant, is called in to provide Peter Box’s legal defence, along with investigator, Jayne Brett. They need answers from Box – but he’s not talking.

As they dig deeper into the case, they discover that this brutal slaying is just the latest in a series of deaths in the Northern town of Highford, starting with the murder of teenager Rosie Smith a decade ago. Blood spatter linked her stepfather, Sean Martin, to the crime – so why did Peter Box try to claim he’d killed young Rosie?

As the investigation deepens, and more murders along the towpaths come to light – murders that can’t be linked to Peter Box – Jayne and Dan realise that they have stumbled onto a dark conspiracy in their little town.

It’s clear Peter has something to hide, but is he a killer? Grant and Brett are plunged into a race against time to uncover the truth… before a twisted psychopath claims another victim.

An unputdownable, twisty and completely gripping legal crime thriller. Fans of Angela Marsons, Steve Cavanagh and John Grisham will be hooked until the very last page.

Praise for Neil White:

‘A tense and exciting crime thriller’ Rachel Abbott, author of Sleep Tight and And So It Begins

‘One of the best writers of legal thrillers out there’ David Jackson, author of Don’t Make A Sound and A Tapping At My Door

‘the plot is dynamic and multi-layered, the relationship between Dan and Jayne is edgy and fascinating and the mystery elements are cleverly woven and definitely twisted . . . ever compelling and truly absorbing . . . With an ending that will have you holding your breathFrom The Shadows is utterly gripping and highly inventive - top notch crime fiction at its appealing, page turning, captivating best.’ Liz Loves Books

‘White's experience as a criminal lawyer shines through in his character development . . . very interesting and complex. . . it kept my attention with intriguing action and a thrilling ending. White's writing reminded me a bit of John Grisham's early days… you really need to check this book out.’ Artistic Bent

‘Neil White is a very talented author, his books are very well written and the plots are excellently paced…I enjoyed it from start to finish, strong characters, great plot and an excellent climax. I can't wait for the next one in the seriesWorcester Sauce

‘This book is a mix of legal drama and murder investigation; both of which made for compelling reading…well written and keeps moving along nicely until the end when it shocks and stunsBreakaway Reviewers

‘Few people will walk a towpath at night after reading The Darkness Around Her.’ SHOTS, the online crime & thriller ezine

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Neil White's The Darkness Around Her

Paperback Editions

July 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her: Assume Nothing, Believe No One, Challenge Everything
Author(s): Neil White
ISBN: 1-78576-460-8 / 978-1-78576-460-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
ISBN: 1-974989-89-5 / 978-1-974989-89-8
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
ISBN: 1-974989-93-3 / 978-1-974989-93-5
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her: A completely unputdownable crime thriller (Dan Grant and Jayne Brett Series Book 2)
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Hera
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Darkness Around Her: A completely unputdownable crime thriller (Dan Grant and Jayne Brett Book 2)
Author(s): Neil White
Publisher: Hera Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU