book cover of The Man on the Street
Added by 8 of our members

The Man on the Street

(2019)
(The first book in the Jimmy Mullen series)
A novel by

 
 
GRITTY, NEWCASTLE-SET CRIME FOR FANS OF IAN RANKIN AND ROBERT GALBRAITH. LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA JOHN CREASEY DAGGER AND A THEAKSTON'S NEW BLOOD AUTHOR FOR 2020.

'Fresh, original, authentic and gritty - should be an instant classic' LEE CHILD

'Intricate, expertly paced with a shocking conclusion ... Jimmy is a character you root for from page one ... Simply supberb' M. W. CRAVEN, author of THE PUPPET SHOW

It started with a splash. Jimmy, a homeless veteran grappling with PTSD, did his best to pretend he hadn't heard it - the sound of something heavy falling into the Tyne at the height of an argument between two men on the riverbank. Not his fight.

Then he sees the headline: GIRL IN MISSING DAD PLEA. The girl, Carrie, reminds him of someone he lost, and this makes his mind up: it's time to stop hiding from his past. But telling Carrie, what he heard - or thought he heard - turns out to be just the beginning of the story.

The police don't believe him, but Carrie is adamant that something awful has happened to her dad and Jimmy agrees to help her, putting himself at risk from enemies old and new.

But Jimmy has one big advantage: when you've got nothing, you've got nothing to lose.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Fresh, original, authentic and gritty - should be an instant classic." - Lee Child

"Intricate, expertly paced with a shocking conclusion. The dialogue is on-point, the narrative is flawless and Jimmy is a character you root for from page one. Believe me when I say this, Trevor Wood has a bright future in the world of crime fiction. Simply superb." - M W Craven

"I can safely say it will be huge . . . Flying through it. It's a brilliant read and I love Jimmy." - Patricia Gibney

"Brings a fresh voice and a totally original perspective to the 'detective as outsider'. A homeless man, traumatised and violent, makes an unusual hero, but a hero with wit and courage who will win readers' hearts." - Isabelle Grey

"What more do you want from a debut than a unique protagonist and a cracking plotline? A smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity." - Mari Hannah

"Superb and going to make serious waves. Love it." - Rob Parker

"I've just finished The Man on the Street, and I hugely enjoyed it. Wood is the real thing. I recently read the last Rebus, and it absolutely stands up to that level. It's smart, witty, compassionate and real, and the dialogue is brilliant. It's a fine thriller with something to say - and it feels like a blast of fresh air in the genre." - Stef Penney

"A superbly written trip through the shadows of my hometown with a unique protagonist as a tour guide." - Robert Scragg

"The story races along at a cracking pace, lots of tension in the twists and turns, and Jimmy is hugely engaging and complex. It's a rare skill to develop a sympathetic character with such a chequered history for whom one so wants a happy ending. A deeply satisfying read." - Harriet Tyce


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Lucifer Falls
(DI Charlie George, book 1)
Colin Falconer
thumb
Deadly Focus
(D.I. Jack Dylan, book 1)
R C Bridgestock
thumb
The Defence
(Eddie Flynn, book 1)
Steve Cavanagh

Used availability for Trevor Wood's The Man on the Street

Hardback Editions

March 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street (Jimmy Mullen)
Author(s): Trevor Wood
ISBN: 1-78747-836-X / 978-1-78747-836-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
ISBN: 1-78747-837-8 / 978-1-78747-837-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
ISBN: 1-78747-916-1 / 978-1-78747-916-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


October 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street: a completely addictive crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin and Robert Galbraith
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Man on the Street: a completely addictive crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin and Robert Galbraith
Author(s): Trevor Wood
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA