book cover of The Agony of France

The Agony of France

(The sixth book in the Alex Kovacs series)
A novel by

Alex Kovacs has fought for the French Resistance in Lyon, and Limoges, and Paris. He has assumed false identities, worn disguises, destroyed property and killed Germans — and wrestled not only with his conscience but with the rivalries within the Resistance movement itself. Now he has joined with one of those factions — the Jews of Paris — to do their dangerous, brutal work.

Many of them are Communists, and while he is not a true believer, Alex joins them because they fight. And when he agrees to help carry out a mass execution of German soldiers, a series of events are set in motion by the reprisals that the Germans undertake.

Innocent Parisians are killed. Friends of Alex are arrested. Even Jewish children in orphanages are targeted. And hanging over everything is the shadow of Drancy, the prison in the Paris suburbs that the Gestapo uses as a staging area for the transports that head east, that carry Jews to the death camps. Drancy might be the one crisis, after four years of fighting, from which Alex cannot escape.

The Agony of France is the sixth book in the Alex Kovacs historical espionage thriller series. If you like the world inhabited by Philip Kerr’s Bernie Gunther or the characters created by Alan Furst, a place and time of unfathomable evil where the biggest questions sometimes are forced upon the most ordinary of people, then you’ll love Richard Wake’s new World War II thriller.

Pick up The Agony of France to travel along on Alex’s latest adventure!

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Richard Wake's The Agony of France

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : Paperback

Title: The Agony of France (Alex Kovacs thriller series)
Author(s): Richard Wake
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Agony of France (Alex Kovacs thriller series Book 6)
Author(s): Richard Wake
Publisher: Manor and State, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU